First Day of Spring

Seems I get more excited about spring rolling around than I did awaiting Christmas as a kid.  A white vernal equinox just doesn’t elicit the same joy as a white Christmas.  The cold weather and fluffy stuff was short lived.  We’re cleaning up our fall messes and repotting starts.  Potatoes are in and some cabbage and candy onions have been planted.

Yesterday was a wonderfully warm and sunny day.  We spent almost all of daylight cleaning up flowerbeds, spreading mulch, moving some plantings, fixing fences and cleaning out spent blackberry canes.  The forecast is calling for some patchy frost for post Easter.  I’m hoping that will be the last of the frosts for the spring.

4 Comments

  1. Bill said,

    March 27, 2016 at 5:49 PM

    I get anxious and excited waiting for spring too. Last year we had a late snow like that but this year is starting out warm. Here’s to a year of bountiful gardens!

    • Woody said,

      March 28, 2016 at 5:47 PM

      I’ve shown remarkable restraint getting things going. Last year I was starting seed at the end of January! I really let my best judgement in the toilet.

  2. Ed said,

    March 28, 2016 at 9:56 AM

    I’ll take spring over Christmas too these days!


Leave a Reply

