Close To Home

The last few days my wife and two grandsons spent a mini vacation at a friends cabin on the river.  Not quite a mile from our house, we enjoyed getting to see our neighborhood from a new angle.  It’s tough to do much fishing on the river with a six and ten year old.  The attention span just doesn’t reach from shore to shore.  I did manage to hook a nice smallmouth on my ultralight rod.  They do present an awesome fight!

IMG_9209

The sunrise on the porch with my coffee was my only quiet time.  A six year old has so many questions and so much energy that it can drain the life right out of my brain.

IMG_9252

The boys found many treasures.  Rocks that look like rocks, cars, rockets, cats, fish, bowls and a triangle.

IMG_9217

IMG_9258

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    July 24, 2015 at 3:48 PM

    My mom always reminds me when I drop my two daughters off for a week with her that being a grandparent is the best. You get to spoil them for a week and then send them home for the parents to deal with the consequences. I got one more day and then I have a weeks worth a consequences that will be coming home!

  2. Bill said,

    July 24, 2015 at 8:03 PM

    Beautiful sunset.


Leave a Reply

