Hives

I ordered package bees for two hives that I bought this winter.

IMG_9035

So far, I’ve been very excited and pleased with how the hives have grown.  I added a new deep super to the stronger of the two yesterday.

IMG_9034

I’m learning on the fly.  Over the last two years my reading has been mostly about the beginning beekeeper.  There are so many books written on the subject that I found myself skimming through much of the regurgitated basic information.  Now in practice, I’m finding nuggets of information on review.

IMG_9033There are as many opinions on beekeeping as beekeepers.  For right now my attitude is hands off, observe and listen to the old head beekeepers.  I’d love to hear from all the folks, novice and expert, who are keeping bees.  It takes a long while for new information to soak in to the dusty gray matter between my ears.

IMG_9032

I’ve been impressed with the gentleness of the bees.  Other than the first day, installing the packages in the hives, I have remained unharmed.  I haven’t found the need for a veil, gloves or even a long sleeve  shirt.  I’ve used the smoker and they’ve remained well mannered.

IMG_9031I can see now how people get hooked on beekeeping.  They are very interesting to watch in their work.

IMG_9029

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    June 15, 2015 at 4:40 PM

    I’m sure I mentioned it before that my parents used to have about 140 hives of bees at one time. I have a lot of memories of beekeeping at a young teenager and not many of them were good. Only as I have aged have I started looking back and remembering how there were lots of good times as well and someday I could see myself raising a couple hives for kicks and giggles. I just have to make sure that a couple hives doesn’t grow into 140 like what happened to my parents.

    • Woody said,

      June 16, 2015 at 5:15 AM

      140! I can see how they could multiply, but I don’t think I could manage 140, 100 or 40, or would want to.


Leave a Reply

