Pine Play

IMG_8626

I finished laying the floor in our bedroom Sunday morning.  After I get this sanded and stained this week I will put a coat or two of satin poly on it and vacate the house for a day.   Moving into the bathroom next.

It will be nice to get our bedroom back in order before taking on the bathroom and closet.  Although I would prefer to stain and poly the entire area at one time I can’t stand having all the furniture and other crap piled up throughout the house.  We look like we’re living in a mild episode of Hoarders.

IMG_8625

The car siding I’m using for flooring is a very soft pine.  It will dent and wear.  It will look like an old farmhouse floor, just like I want it to.  A very easy and forgiving product to use on a floor.  If there is a little bend to an individual board I can usually get it straightened out.  I’ve had some good teachers on some fairly easy tricks to pursuading a turn out of a stick.

IMG_8627

5 Comments

  1. March 16, 2015 at 8:48 AM

    I love how you picture framed your floor, its a cool idea that I may use. I like the idea of using car siding for flooring. Where did you buy your car siding and do you know how much a sq ft it would be. We have also been looking at pine flooring (wide plank) but if the cost would be less with this car siding we may go with that.

  2. Woody said,

    March 17, 2015 at 3:58 AM

    First off, car-siding is very soft for flooring in high traffic areas. It’s not something that everyone will be happy with when it comes to wear.

    Most of your local lumber yards should carry it. I’ve not done the math on the square costs. We don’t get our bill from the lumber yard till the tenth of the month and the young men who delivered it didn’t leave me any paperwork. I can say that it is at least half the price of any hardwood flooring.

  3. Ed said,

    March 19, 2015 at 9:03 AM

    Siding our floors is a project that is quickly coming up on my master list. I have never done it but since I read this blog, I’m pretty certain I can handle it. My main goal is to not end up with something made in China.

  4. Ed said,

    March 19, 2015 at 9:04 AM

    Looks really nice by the way.

    • Woody said,

      March 19, 2015 at 3:59 PM

      I’ve seen your work. This would be a piece of cake for you.


Leave a Reply

