Mindflight

It’s still dark out as I’m drinking my coffee and anticipating a beautiful day here.  I have a love/hate relationship with this time of year.  The urge to get out and garden is setting in and the long list of projects that I would like to do grows longer.  We have spent evenings sitting in front of the wood stove planning, plotting and prioritizing our spring and summer wish lists.  Pleading our cases before each other on the importance, desire and probability of any given proposal.  Some win, some lose and some get tabled thereby adding to the long list that just keeps growing. All the seed catalogs are in and have been throughly worked over.  We’ve already made a run to a very cool seed company near Eldon, Missouri called Morgan County Seed, so most of our shopping has been completed.  There is still to come our trip to Baker Creek in May.  This years pilgrimage promises to be a very fun twist on an already enjoyable journey.  We will be hanging out with our friends Rob and Willie the potters, and Will and Melissa the blacksmiths.  They will have booths at this years big Spring Planting Festival the first weekend of May.  I’m not sure exactly how much help we will be, but we surely love spending time with them.  If you’ve never been, I do highly recommend a visit to both of these venues.  Come down to the planting festival and see if we can find each other.  They are quite different but very extensive in their offerings. So we’ve talked about what we HAVE to do…paint the house, replace the nasty carpet in our bedroom with a wood floor;  and what we want to do…my smokehouse, replace the high tunnel and build a new pavilion between our barn and the fire pit. Something is definitely going to lose!

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    January 26, 2015 at 9:13 AM

    In my household, most of my projects seem to get trumped! I try to sneak a couple of them in anyway.

    • Woody said,

      January 27, 2015 at 4:53 AM

      Time, between the thing I do for money and the things I want to do, seems to be the greatest deterrent to completion of anything around here.

  2. Bill said,

    January 29, 2015 at 7:17 AM

    I hear you. We’re at that point too. Planning, discussing, debating. Mostly waiting.

    Every year when we plan what we’re going to do this year I bring out my farm wish-list. Of course most of things on it end up getting trumped by more urgent priorities. Someday…

    I envy your trip to Baker Creek. That’s got to be a lot of fun. I’d love to go someday.

    • Woody said,

      January 29, 2015 at 10:06 AM

      It’s a neat place. The seed store is a bit overwhelming.


Leave a Reply

