Got Them Hanging

It was a little trickier than I had imagined getting my loft doors hung yesterday.  My brother came out and helped me get the monsters up without killing each other or destroying the doors.  I screwed down three two by six to the loft floor hanging out like a ships gang plank.  The extra three feet of floor helped us wiggle and walk the doors out and lean them back towards the building so trolley could meet track.  It all seemed so easy when I was scheming up a plan.  In practice, the weight and awkwardness of the door size made the whole deal a little more tense than anticipated

.IMG_8440

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    October 23, 2014 at 8:03 AM

    I can see the headlines in my head. Man survived the ten foot fall to the grass below when his boards broke but was flattened by two massive doors that fell on top of him.

    Glad it all worked out for you and just in the nick of time. They look sharp! Have a great time tomorrow.

    • Woody said,

      October 24, 2014 at 3:46 AM

      Ha! The thought crossed my mind several times.

  2. Annie said,

    October 23, 2014 at 12:27 PM

    They look beautiful! You did fantastic job building them.

  3. Leigh said,

    December 9, 2014 at 4:14 AM

    It’s been awhile since I last visited so I just started reading through your posts. But how could I not stop here to comment. Your barn looks so, so good and has “aged” beautifully for a lovely, settled-in, belongs-here kind of look. We hope to start on ours next year (after a renovation detour with the front porch). I only hope ours looks half as good when it’s done.


Leave a Reply

