Loft Doors

My last order of lumber has finally dried to a point that I feel it will be stable enough to get my doors put together.  I’ve played around with the layout of my cuts a little bit.  Not a whole lot differant than the main doors, but just tweaked the width of the rabbets so there is less of a chance to see an air gap in the panels.  The panels are free floating shiplap in the framework of the door, so I’m pretty sure that stretching the rabbet will give me a better look in the long run.

.IMG_8414

I’ve used some monster lag screws on all the joints in the frame of the doors.  The screws are ten inches long. so they are providing a lot more stability than what I had used on the lower doors.  Glued and screwed.   The lower doors have been hanging untreated with very little negative results.  I’m thinking that one more year of aging will give me the patina I’m wanting, before adding any wood preservative.

IMG_8412

Now I’ve got to figure out how to hang these beasts without killing myself.

IMG_8410

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    October 11, 2014 at 9:47 PM

    Eat lots of carbs the night before and take some advil the morning of. Also enlist friends with beer and food… at least that is how I sometimes get big jobs done.

    • Woody said,

      October 12, 2014 at 4:48 AM

      You actually had me chuckling on that one. I like the carb loading idea.


Leave a Reply

