Float/Fish

This past week I had a chance to go fishing on the river with a friend of mine from St. Louis.  We had planned on floating eleven miles of the Meremac from a local outfitters access down to my brothers farm.  One of the things that just drives me nuts about float fishing from open top kayaks is that these boats are made for the weekend floater who will have a small cooler strapped to the stern of the boat.  There isn’t any god place to stow a spare rod or small tackle bag/box.

I had seen a very expensive custom fishing kayak that had the rod holders but all of its storage was designed to keep gear dry. We’re not floating class one rapids on our local streams.  I want to be able to reach back and grab my tackle, a water bottle or a knife without pulling, screwing or having to untie some sort of lidded compartment.  Milk crates worked great for furniture for most of my life, why not for a simple fishing trip.

So I put together a pair of these simple racks for our trip.  

IMG_8275 IMG_8276 IMG_8277

After a full day of use I only have one modification I want to make to the design.  I want to add another pole holder.  Everything stayed where it was suppose to and the tiedown strap on the stern turned into a nifty handle for pulling the boats out to the truck after our arms were cast out.  Sadly the fishing sucked from the stand point of meal prep.  A whole lot of tiny small mouth bass and some goggle eye, but nothing worth keeping.

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    August 30, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    I’ve never tried fishing out of a kayak. I’m not sure what I would do with my paddle. I’ve done a lot of fishing out of a one person canoe though. I’m guessing though that a canoe doesn’t help you catch more or bigger fish!

  2. Woody said,

    September 3, 2014 at 6:52 AM

    The paddle just lays in your lap. These are old open top kayaks. Much like sitting in a recliner.


Leave a Reply

