Busted Flowers

Busted Flowers

I had always envisioned a grandkid kicking a soccer ball in the loft as the destroyer of the stained glass. Fortunately there wasn’t anyone hurt when a friend missed the last step down to the landing and fell shoulder first into the panel.

I think I’ll get a little learning done on the fine points of stain glass repair or maybe build something all together different. The part of the whole procedure that I least look forward to is getting the panel frame out of the wall. The stained glass is framed in a cedar surround and it was snuggly fit into the wall opening. It could be a real pain in the arse getting this damned thing down.

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    June 13, 2014 at 5:00 PM

    I’ve always wanted to try my hand at stained glass. It looks fairly straight forward other than the artistic vision part but you already have that part done.

    After going through all the work to remove the window and fix it, I think I would be tempted to make it double paned with some safety glass and a space between them so that if a missed step happens again, perhaps the safety glass will absorb the energy and reduce the risk of getting someone’s gizzard cut out.

  2. Woody said,

    June 14, 2014 at 5:34 AM

    To be honest Ed. I would rather just dump the whole idea.


Leave a Reply

