Hanging

IMG_7868

The track steel dropped into the brackets with barely a tap from the hammer.  I was totally surprised that all lined up as well as it did.  We had pulled a string line in the bracket notches after we had bolted them to the barn and there looked like we might have had to make some adjustments.  I guess that we hadn’t pulled the string tight enough because I still had circulation in my digit.

IMG_7870

Everything worked as intended.  I mounted the trolleys to the long-side door on Wednesday after work.  With a little leverage from a transfer shovel I was able to lift the monster onto the track.

I was so freaking excited to finally have the doors in place and functioning.  Through out this winter they were screwed in place keeping out the weather, but preventing easy access to the barn.  Unloading Katy’s pig feed became more of a work out than I cared for.

There are still some adjustments and a bit more work to do on the doors.  The track needs to be cut to length and the stops welded on.  The track also needs to be welded to the brackets.  The doors need to be snugged up a bit.  There are a couple of gaps in the joinery that I will have to clamp, glue and screw into place.  I’ve been kicking around ideas for some kind of swing out stop.  A section of rail or as simple as some larger rocks placed to keep the wind from pushing the doors away from the body of the barn.  I’ll also have to come up with some closure securement.

Now onto the loft doors!  Same treatment at a higher elevation.

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    April 11, 2014 at 10:31 AM

    What we have done in the past is to put a roller at the base of each door so that it just catches the outside of the door when closed and helps hold the doors against the barn side when open or closed. We usually put another roller out where the open position ends so that if a wind comes when they are open it holds it up against the barn. When closed, we build a small metal receiver that the lower corners of the doors slide into that help support them when closed due to high winds. So hard to describe something so simple but I’m sure you probably have an idea of what I’m talking about.

  2. Ron said,

    April 11, 2014 at 12:02 PM

    Looks good… doors that actually work sure are nice. I have some non-functional ones I have to work around now, and that is very inconvenient…


Leave a Reply

