Shoes To Fill

It’s been over a month since I stopped searching for our Lizzie. There wasn’t even a credible sighting of her to put me on a trail. I’m hoping that someone found her and took her in as their own. She was far too cool a dog for anyone to pass up the chance to get to know her.

Normally I wouldn’t search out a replacement pooch. I’ve always let the dog come to us. I am however a strong believer in letting the dogs we have train any newcomer. With that in mind the succession of good habits may hit a speed bump if it were left to the youngest of our pups. She is a sweet dog with bad habits.

The elder statesman of the bunch is truly getting up on the elder side of things. I decided that instead of risking a break in the lineage of not being totally pissed off at the behavior of my dogs, I would seek out a new link in the chain before it was broke.

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    March 27, 2014 at 7:55 PM

    It is too bad you never found her. I’ve known a few pets over the years who have disappeared and never came back. It always sucks not knowing.

    • Woody said,

      March 31, 2014 at 4:00 AM

      Thanks Ed. I hope that someone picked her up. A friend of my brother has had weekend river floaters “rescue” one of his dogs before. Well meaning folk who think that the dog is lost in the wild of river country. They don’t see the house on the ridge or realize they are in our backyard.


Leave a Reply

