The Doors

Christmas day waiting for the grandkids gave me the unexpected opportunity to finish up the short side of the doors.  The trolleys I picked up from a meat packing supply house.  They will be bolted on a C-channel that will fit over the top length of the doors.  The C-channel will be bolted through and provide a bit of weather protection to the top edge as well.  I’m still scrounging around looking for odd bits of steel for door stops and keepers.

The loft doors should come together much quicker than this set did.  I was having a tough time visualizing exactly what I wanted to build.  When I started cutting up scrap into tests for the joints the plan became clearer.

I stepped back to look at the short side door and thought that a false light grill might look good.  Any thoughts?

4 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    December 27, 2013 at 12:08 PM

    I always feel like the hardest part of a project is deciding exactly how I want to do it. The doing part seems a lot easier to me.

    I like the idea of a smaller side door that slides. I’ve never seen that before.

    • Woody said,

      December 27, 2013 at 6:40 PM

      I hear you. Once I get the idea going it happens pretty quick.

      The split door size was really out of necessity because of the electrical service being too close to the door for an even split.

  2. Ed said,

    January 4, 2014 at 2:13 PM

    I go both ways I guess. Sometimes I can visualize what I want to do easy but just have a hard time getting started. Case in point my master bathroom. Other times I don’t really know what I want but I can get started easily.

    But the advantage we both have these days is time and that makes any project easier when you don’t have to rush.

    • Woody said,

      January 4, 2014 at 9:23 PM

      The entire project turns out to be my hobby at the moment.


Leave a Reply

