Loving Fall

IMG_7380

Fall firmly holds second place in my personal preference list of seasons.  It’s a time to wind down.  Put the garden to bed.  Hauling and splitting wood and spending evenings around the fire pit.  Fish fry and grilling venison, catching up with friends.  Spring gets the nod in my seasons poll simply due to the excitement factor of getting out of the house and in the dirt.

I just started getting my doors for the barn laid out.  If I hold to my pattern of procrastination I should be hanging them around the first snow.  If I’m tardy the plastic will go back up.  I have finally moved all my tools into the shop.  Peg board is hung and the tools and workbench have been somewhat organized.  The hardest part of getting the doors going has been a lack of mental vision of the finished product.  I usually have a pretty easy time with visualizing how I want things to turn out.  After building two doors on the east side of the building, and not liking the outcome, I have balked at the big doors.

My supply of dried lumber has reached a near critical point.  I can ill afford to make a mistake with my stock so low.  I should have had some more lumber cut and drying but I don’t.

We should be having our pumpkin massacre in the next few weeks.  One of the most fun days!  Poor innocent pumpkins meet their maker with bow and shotgun,  and a fish fry of fresh gigged suckers.

 

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    November 5, 2013 at 10:28 AM

    Love that top picture of the barn. It looks like it has been there for years! You’ve done a wonderful job on it and I wish I had it in my backyard.

  2. Woody said,

    November 5, 2013 at 5:05 PM

    Thanks a bunch Ed! I have said from the start that I wanted a brand new 80 year old barn. I think I got it.


Leave a Reply

