Rained Out

“We’ve had enough” I said under my breath. In fear that the mere utterance of the words would bring about a turning of the tap and anger of the creator. Ungrateful I’m not, but there comes a time when the sun needs to come out and replace the deficit of daylight. Our tomatoes are not ripening from lack of sun and heat. The nights are fall like. Not the typical early August fare we’re accustomed to. There has been no evenings dripping with the heat and humidity that I loathe to sit in but need for my favorite fruit to ripen. I’m already getting the urge to get my wood split. What the hell is wrong with this weather we are experiencing?

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    August 11, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    I’ve been thinking about you and the rest of the mid to southern Missouri crowd with all the rain in the news. It seems with recent years, you get lots of a particular type of weather but not a variety like “normal” years. Hopefully you dry out and as always, you are welcome to send some of it north. We are starting to get parched up here again though not nearly as bad as last year.

    • Woody said,

      August 12, 2013 at 5:05 AM

      We had some good soaking rains here. Folks just a couple of miles south and west of us were the ones who took the brunt of the storm. We went up to Sedalia Mo. for the state fair on Friday and had to detour way to the north before heading west. Every direct road between us and Sedalia was under water.

  2. Ron said,

    August 11, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    I’ll send 10″ up to Ed right away…

    Man, what a crazy year. I almost muttered those words out loud myself. I sure hope we can have a nice, dry, cool, extended Fall to make up for these extremes. Maybe I could actually get something done…

    • Woody said,

      August 12, 2013 at 5:07 AM

      The temps have been awesome! I can’t believe how many times I have had to mow the lawn though. Usually I park the mower for most of August. Not this year!


Leave a Reply

