August

The end of July offered me the opportunity to finish off a hand full of items from my wish list on the barn.  One of the edits was the scuttle hole.  The original opening was too small for me to pass through without removing a layer of hide from my back.  I doubled the size and recessed the covers so they are flush with the loft floor.  As I’m writing this I’m thinking that I might have to hide the hinges instead of having them flush mounted with the floor.

IMG_6823

The ladder used up the stack of rafter ends that were stashed away.  It just breaks my heart to throw out, or burn, any of the materials from construction.  I’ve always viewed dumpsters on construction sites as a candy store.  There is so much waste in new construction in the effort to complete a job in the shortest amount of time.

I decided that in using the wider scrap for the ladder that I needed to give the run a bit of an angle.  A bit like a ships ladder.  The depth of the rung made handholds a little uncomfortable the closer to the wall I set it.  Bringing the bottom out flush with the door opening made the handholds slightly better without getting into a potential equipment/ladder collision zone.  The space behind the ladder is perfect for stashing metal t-posts, rebar, ect.

IMG_6821

I threw together a fishing pole rack to get all our gear out of a corner of the garage.  The rods tips are held back by a strip of plastic cut from a five gallon pickle bucket.   Not to mention that walking by my poles everyday has had an influence on what I really should be doing.

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    August 2, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    A fishing pole rack is now on my list of things to do.

    • Woody said,

      August 3, 2013 at 4:55 AM

      Quick and easy. I really don’t know why I hadn’t done one years ago.

  2. Ron said,

    August 2, 2013 at 8:37 PM

    I really like your fishing pole rack. Someday, when I get to that point, I’d like to do similar. The plastic tabs are genius.

    • Woody said,

      August 3, 2013 at 4:56 AM

      I was at a loss for a solution Ron. The bucket was the only thing I could come up with.


Leave a Reply

