June

As the cusp of summer is upon us I’m having a difficult time getting the hang of this long, wet spring thing.  Our nights are still very cool.  This time last year we were well into the best year ever to dry rough cut lumber.  No rain, no humidity, knarly temperatures and stiff southern breezes were the norm.  This year I still have a quilt on the bed and it finds its way over me through the night.

Luckily my supply of straw has come around to the price of reason.  Last year he was caught up in the mania surrounding hay shortages from the horrific drought.  He quoted me crisis hay prices for round bales of straw.  That was the last time I had talked with him until bumping into him at the service station while getting fuel.  He informed me that he still had some straw left from last year. Imagine that!  We talked a bit and agreed on a good price and delivery of 10 bales.

I love to mulch with straw!  It hides the weeds so well.

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    June 19, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    We had four very wet years followed by last year which was the very dry year. This year seems to solidify that we seem to be in a wet cycle. At least this year the breaks have been big enough to plant so that we are down to just a couple hundred acres left to plant… for the second time. Hopefully once all the crops get in, we can have timely rains instead of constant rains.

    The produce up here at the farmer’s market has been pretty slim for warm season goods. Not having sweet corn before July 4th will be something I have never experienced until this year!

    • Woody said,

      June 20, 2013 at 6:00 AM

      I’m still planting stuff from the greenhouse. Our weather and my job have left little time for me to get anything done….whaaa whaaa whaaa!

  2. Ron said,

    June 19, 2013 at 9:37 PM

    10 round bales… that’s a lot of straw! If I could secure that much for a really good price, I might stick with the mulching method. But the stirrup hoe is still doing a good job here this year.

    Pretty muggy here now.

    • Woody said,

      June 20, 2013 at 6:04 AM

      It is a lot of straw. He reminded me he has about 50 more bales that he would like to sell me now. Funny how they don’t jump off the farm when the price is doubled.

      I like the hoe too. I’m using the “butterfly” hoe that I picked up three years ago. It is my favorite flavor until I get alergic to the handle again.

  3. Leigh said,

    June 24, 2013 at 9:02 PM

    I reckon those reasonable straw prices fall under the category of “experience is the best teacher.”

    Now, off to go hide some weeds myself. 🙂

    • Woody said,

      June 26, 2013 at 4:42 AM

      I’m happy that he came back to earth on his price. Mulching with straw is one of my favorite ways to build up our soil.


Leave a Reply

