Blooming

IMG_6428

I’m finally starting to feel like I’m catching up on normal springtime activities around here.  We’ve got most of the garden in.  No small feat with the weather we’ve had.  The rains have been just far enough apart to keep the ground too wet to work.  Luckily the stars aligned with the weather, work and my aching back gods to allow a window of opportunity that we pounced on.

IMG_6435

Several late frosts did us no harm this year.  The first in three that we will have peaches.  It has been a roller coaster on the temperature here.  Friday morning it was near 38f.  Yesterday afternoon we were in the upper 80’s.

We have not planted as many tomato as we have in the past.  I’ve only started Cherokee Purple, Roma and bought four Goliath variety.  The green beans are completely volunteer this year.  Two type of beets, sweet corn, sweet potato, broccoli, Stonehead and Flat Dutch cabbage are our choices so far.  I’ve still got some sweet and hot peppers in the greenhouse to put out yet.

We have not finished our debate on squash variety yet.

IMG_6431

IMG_6436

IMG_6437

IMG_6438

It should be a good year for blackberry and grapes.  If the number of blossom and seed fruit are anything you  can depend on to estimate a harvest.

IMG_6440

We spent yesterday at my brothers’ farm on the river.  They had a pretty good turnout for their hog roast.  Katy raised the two feeders that they cooked.  The meat was delicious!  A beautiful day with friends, family and good food.  God bless America.

IMG_6420

 

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    May 28, 2013 at 12:35 PM

    The rains have been something else. The drought is officially over up here. I hate to say it but I’m ready for a bit of dry sunny weather.

    I feel bad for a family that lives just down the road. They took their roof off a week ago and haven’t been able to put any shingles on since. Since they are forecasting rain the rest of this week, it may be awhile.

    • Woody said,

      May 29, 2013 at 4:48 AM

      I’ve already mowed the grass more this year than all of last year. Hopefully the tap will moderate and continue, as opposed to shutting down and turning into a drying kiln like last year.

      Thankfully most of my work here has been under roof. The only exception has been dropping some trees and trying to get the garden in.

  2. Ron said,

    May 28, 2013 at 3:19 PM

    Lookin’ good up there… I feel like your dog in the last pic today. We lost a peach tree last year, but the remaining one is loaded… fresh peaches sound really good right now.

    • Woody said,

      May 29, 2013 at 4:43 AM

      It’s been a long time! Last year I ended up buying a case of peaches from Illinois just to keep my addiction feed. Theresa made some jam for me and I ate way too much of the fresh peach on top of my ice cream while she was slaving away canning. I still get a dirty look from her if I say anything about buying a case of fruit.

  3. warrenp94 said,

    May 29, 2013 at 10:11 AM

    We’ve had enough water to make it look like things are going to do well this year…the last few years have been less stellar so I have high hopes for our fruit too! Let’s hope!

    • Woody said,

      May 29, 2013 at 7:46 PM

      Our deficit has been overtaken, but I wonder if the recovery from a severe drought/heat event like last year truly recovers in a season. All we have is hope of a good year. Hope is good enough for me.


Leave a Reply

