Sprung 2013

IMG_6268

True spring!  Last night was chilly with patchy frost in the hollers.

The day before we were talking about finding the seasons first gray morels.  Rain in and out of the forecast with high skies in between.

I’ve spread some lime on the garden for the first time in three years and have made at least one pass with the tiller on our plots.  Cabbage, broccoli, strawberries and lettuces are planted.

I cleaned off the bean arches of last years vines.  The beans that were remaining littered the ground and already a few volunteers have come up.  I may not have to plant beans at all this year.

I’ve had an unwelcome encroachment into the green house this year.  The freaking rats that have been under the chicken house have decided to get their greens from my tomato starts.  I should have realized that they would have followed the birds into the green house since I allowed access for the chickens over the winter.  Now I’m hoping that the big ass black snake makes it back to the coop this year.  I’ll gladly surrender a few eggs for no rats.

One of my favorite spring flowers is hellebore.  An early indicator of warmer days.

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    April 26, 2013 at 8:39 AM

    Still too early up here for morels. But I’m guessing after two days of nearly 80 degrees forecasted for the weekend followed by some showers on Monday, we might find some next week. I can’t wait!

  2. Ed said,

    May 1, 2013 at 8:35 AM

    Well the mistake is on me. My parents found the first gray morels this past Saturday, several days before I would have guessed. Now I just need to find time to get south and hunt for some of the suckers!

  3. warren said,

    May 1, 2013 at 2:32 PM

    Ahhh…asparagus! I love how they poke through the ground!


Leave a Reply

