After Party

After we cleaned up from the party I figured it would be about the only time in the foreseeable future that the barn would be clean and ready for its close up.IMG_6211

The coop still lacks a door, hardware cloth on the windows and the outside run.  Other than that it’s chicken ready.

IMG_6212

The shops drywall has a primer on it.  That’s about as far as that will go.  I still need to trim out the windows and then I’ll be ready to move the pegboard panels and my workbench from the garage.

IMG_6213

IMG_6215

 

The stain glass panel that my sister gave us a couple of years ago has found its final resting place.  I’m not moving it again, unless it is in a sale.

IMG_6222

 

One of our friends brought out some sign lights that were left unused from a commercial project.  They had been sitting in his warehouse for a year.  I think I’m going to swap out these with the two canopies that I installed on the front of the barn.  At the very least I’ll set one and take a look to see if they would look better.  I love getting free stuff!

IMG_6223

8 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    April 15, 2013 at 7:51 AM

    Awesome! I’m wishing I had something like that in my backyard!

  2. warrenp94 said,

    April 15, 2013 at 2:05 PM

    It looks great! Jealous here for sure!

  3. April 16, 2013 at 8:19 AM

    Love your barn, I too wished I had one like that. It looks like it was all reclaimed lumber, or even an old barn that you put up on your place.

    Like you, I am also retiring from railroading in just over two years and looking forward to farming, I am so looking forward to that.

    • Woody said,

      April 18, 2013 at 3:53 PM

      Thanks Gordon. I don’t care to wish my life away, but it would be nice to have just a couple of years left instead of nine.

  4. Phoebe said,

    April 22, 2013 at 4:45 AM

    Wow Woody, you sure did follow through on your plans! I’m sure your family and friends feel proud of you. You have built a thing of beauty that will be around for generations to come, not many of us can claim that.

    • Woody said,

      April 22, 2013 at 12:02 PM

      Thank you so much Phoebe. Your too kind. Our family and friends built this with us. That is what makes it so cool for me. I can look at hammer marks on the loft floor boards and I know that my daughter or one of our nieces or grandsons had been driving the nail. If a building can store memories, this one is already full.


Leave a Reply

