Let There Be Light

The electric service is finally in.  It’s been a bit of an ordeal just getting everything in order but it is done.  I’ve started rewiring some vintage fixtures that we’ve picked up over the years.  I’m damned happy that I held on to some of these things.  Although there have been some headaches getting all the pieces and parts to work together with new in-body switches and lack of a means to mount some of them other than screwing them to the ceiling.

The center bay lights I was lucky to find on a close out site.  They were $4.99 plus $9.99 shipping.  $15 bucks per fixture still ain’t too shabby.  The fixture is similar to the old porcelain canopies but they are just painted.  They had a polished steel accent ring near the base of the canopy that I took off.  They should make a nifty bangle for some amazon women.

It’s so good to be able to get the cords up off the ground and stow them away.

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    March 11, 2013 at 10:41 AM

    Last fall, I put up a small passel of those 4 ft long flourescent fixtures in my garage to improve the lighting over the single bulb that had been in there previously. While I successfully improved the lighting, I did a number on the electrical interference out there. I can’t even use a radio anymore. Now I wish I had gone your route with the single fixtures and used CFL’s which aren’t nearly as bad.

  2. Woody said,

    March 12, 2013 at 4:02 AM

    I’m not a fan of the fluorescent fixtures either. I literally have two large boxes remaining of old fixtures that I’ve picked up over the years. I would imagine that after I let friends pick what they want the leftovers will become sale fodder.

  3. warren said,

    March 17, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    Good job on the rewiring…I love interesting lights and anything cast iron…I am looking for old iron anything to see what I can do to clean it up and fix it. Anyhow, your lights look great!

    • Woody said,

      March 18, 2013 at 3:54 AM

      Now you have the sandblaster to achieve your mad goal of rust and paint removal from all things iron. Blast on Warren, blast on.


Leave a Reply

