Getting An Itch

I usually don’t have to worry too much about getting the itch to start the garden planning. The arrival of the plethora of seed catalogs usually is reserved for mid February.  Right when the itch of what can best be described as cabin fever hits.  Unfortunately the marketing gurus have persuaded the seed companies to start the delivery of their catalogs to December and early January.  They have totally screwed up my internal seasonal clock.

Blame it on climate change or global warming.  I think it all is the fault of the marketing guys.

I’m not quite at the stage that I want to stick my toes in the dirt battiness that usually invades my psyche.  I’m getting the urge to start the dreaming.  It just sorta pisses me off that I have been denied the pleasure of knocking the ice off the mailbox to retrieve the rays of hope that the mid February delivery of the catalogs provided.

The barn has eaten up so much of my energy.  I love the huge jumps in progress that occur during initial construction.  I can see the progress rising from the nothingness.  I’m very much at the point of the details.  I’ve been drilling holes and pulling wire,  framing and siding interior walls for the coop, gleaning through the scrap to retrieve any usable lumber and finding an appropriate spot to stack the scrap so that I’m not moving them again.  I will be working on the plumbing for the bathroom and hydrants for the critters in the next two weeks.  We’ve got Katy’s swine project that will start back up here in a month or so.  The two of us have a lot of panels to get up and figure out just how to eliminate any potential problems with the mini bulldozer, escape artists that hogs can be.  I also have a number of doors and windows to manufacture too.

End of May

It won’t be long that my focus will be turned to the garden/yard.  All of the flowerbeds that surround our house are in need of thinning.  The new construction has opened up potential for new plantings.  There are so many things I would like to move to surround the shop side of the barn.  When I’m able to plant a robust landscape around a new structure it really adds to my enjoyment of the project.  It gives into the illusion that the barn has been there forever.  I won’t be able or willing to salvage all that comes from the beds.  Thankfully there are a number of folk who would love to receive a mess of divisions from perennials.

We were so fortunate when we built our home ten years ago that my parents were selling theirs at the same time.  We were gifted with several pickup truck bed loads of perennial divisions from the years of plantings of my mom and dad.  It would have been impossible for us to afford to purchase the equivalent plantings from a nursery.  That same effect will be realized around the barn.

The rain stopped

Next weekend we plan on the lean-tos going up.  I’ve had to order another mess of lumber from the mill.  I completely missed the purlins for the two sheds when we ordered initially.  I’ve also added some siding to complete the interior walls ahead of what we had originally planned.

So today with a rainy outlook and highs in the fifties I will continue on under the cover of new tin.

2 Comments

  1. Annie said,

    January 27, 2013 at 6:39 PM

    That is so cool to be able to thin your current plantings to supply your beds around the new barn. I did that basically when I moved here and it saves SO much money.

    • Woody said,

      January 27, 2013 at 8:42 PM

      No doubt! I’m stunned when I walk through the nurseries and look at the prices. I’m very grateful that my folks had so much to share. Now I can trade sometimes.


Leave a Reply

