Turning To The South Side

I made some decent progress working solo Friday.  Finished up a few odd jobs that were left hanging from previous work days.  This Saturday we’re planning on getting the metal on the east side and maybe get the end walls in the loft framed out.  John and I went as far as we could getting the staircase to Theresa’s studio laid out.  Unfortunately we ran out of 2×12’s.  The mill won’t be set up to cut pine again until Tuesday.  The order is in and hopefully we can find out if we’ll have enough siding to button everything up.  I’ve figured I have about 58′ of linear coverage at 12′ lengths.  If I’m careful with my cuts and planning I should be able to get the job done

.Image

 

We hung the doors during the week.  The single door needs a bit more work before I wrap it with siding.  It just won’t set right with the opening.  The perils of using rough cut lumber.  I’ll have to take out about a quarter inch of the opening at the bottom of the latch side to true up the door.

Image

 

The nailer for another lean to and flashing went up today.  As the sun was going down I finished getting the siding over to the window opening.

Image

 

The east side siding complete, less the doors and window shutters.

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    November 24, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    Sometimes finished lumber is frought with perils. Just today I was installing closet doors on my closet remodeling project. I finally figured out too late, that my long level must not be level anymore. All the work I did to make sure things were level was for naught.

    Barn is looking great though.

    • November 25, 2012 at 3:34 AM

      There is no other way to express how frustrated I would be. There are a number of lessons I’ve taken away from this project with John. One of them happened to be checking levels and squares often. He is very, very anal about his work. Some of that perfectionism can be very helpful, some not.

  2. Ron said,

    November 24, 2012 at 6:09 PM

    Looking good!

    Are you planning to paint the barn, or leave it to weather?

    • November 25, 2012 at 3:22 AM

      I’m going to let it weather for a year. I’m not sure what we will put on it yet. At the very least it will get some type of preservative.


Leave a Reply

