The First Turn

I made some decent progress Friday after work and today.  Getting set with a rhythm and system for making my cuts and staging the siding helped a bunch.  I’ve had to leave the siding off from around where the doors will be.  After they are set I’ll be able to run the siding up to the door trim for a nice fit.

Of course our weather is getting ready for a spit of nastiness tonight.  Today was warm and windy.  T-shirt weather.  Tomorrows forecast is cold rain and even a chance of some snow.  I sure do wish we had the rest of the roof on.  If its not too bad I’ll try to get some of the purlins on the east side.  We’re so close to getting her out of the weather!

Hopefully we can get the south wall framing completed during the week.  Depending on John’s luck in the woods this weekend we might be able to get close to completion.  The part that sucks from the budget stand point is the necessity to rent a lift to safely install the end windows and last run of the roof tin.  John nor I have any appetite for trying to handle the window from a ladder.  I don’t want this thing to kill us.

8 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    November 10, 2012 at 7:23 PM

    That thing is looking awesome. It sure was warm today, hard to believe it's going to turn over like they say.

  2. Ed said,

    November 10, 2012 at 9:16 PM

    I meant to make hay with the good weather and get my eaves cleaned out one last time but I may have missed the boat. Maybe I still have a brief window after church tomorrow. But enough about me, your barn looks excellent. I really could see myself inside that barn. I used to read a blog of a fellow in Florida who was building his entire house by himself. He hasn't updated it for over a year so it may be defunct or he simply may have finished it. Anyway, he was a really safety conscious fellow and I was amazed at all the jigs he came up with to help him do everything from hauling windows up to high places and installing siding all by his self. If I can find the blog again, I'll have to post the link.

  3. Woody said,

    November 11, 2012 at 6:59 AM

    Ron…I was sweeting up a storm but that steady 20mph wind was blowing me dry.Ed..I'm hoping to get a little more done in the morning before the rain rolls in. As for the window, this beast is an 8'x4'6" casement that I'm afraid would pop a nut if I tried to lift. I would really enjoy checking out the blog if you find it. My collection of bar clamps, spring clamps and c-clamps have be getting a work out on this project.

  4. Ed said,

    November 12, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    Well I got rained out for sure. Rained all day and of course my gutters overflowed at times but all is good. Supposed to be sunny though cool this week so I can get it done. Besides, we still need all the rain we can get anyway we can get it.I had a moment of clarity this morning and was able to Google the blog I was referring too. It hasn't been updated in a couple years but there is some really good stuff in the archives.http://n74tg.blogspot.com/

  5. Robin said,

    November 13, 2012 at 4:26 PM

    Wow, you are really making a lot of progress! I can hardly wait to see the finished product.

  6. Woody said,

    November 14, 2012 at 12:22 PM

    Ed…I was happy for the break. The cooler weather is much more pleasant to work in for me. Thanks for sending the blog info. I've started to look through it from the start.Robin…It's getting closer!

  7. warren said,

    November 15, 2012 at 12:21 PM

    This is looking great! It is so large! That's a serious undertaking!

  8. Woody said,

    November 17, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    Warren…I've always heard that if you are going to build an outbuilding to make it bigger than what you think you'll need. We have definitely lived up to that standard.


Leave a Reply

