Nailed

Man!  There are a chit load of nails in this thing!

I went down to the mill to pick up another load of lumber that we will need later in the process yesterday.  I start jabbering with the mill owner and he finally put two and two together and says “Oh…your the one building the barn the way they used to be built.”  If you mean slowly, yes that would be me.  “Would you build a few more of those” he added.   “If I survive this one I guess I’m on the hook to build one for John too” I told him.  His business would greatly increase if people would revert to framing and wood siding instead of pole barns and tin siding.  Not a good chance of that happening.  The time that John has taken into making sure the details are right make me feel so fortunate to have entered this venture with him.  I have to admit that there have been times I catch myself saying that it’s a freaking barn!  Nail it and let’s move on.  Usually when I’m ready to shut it down for the day this attitude can flood my usual sense of doing the right thing the right way.

 My hands feel like pin cushions full of splinters, some I can’t get out because I can’t see them anymore.  All of us found a few places to leave a message to be found by anyone who might be poking around the loft in the future.

Finally getting some metal on!

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    November 5, 2012 at 9:46 AM

    Maybe you have a new profession after your engineering gig.Metal buildings just don't have character. When I build my outbuilding, I'm going your route.

  2. Ron said,

    November 5, 2012 at 1:19 PM

    It's gonna look good, and those splinters will work their way out in a month or so. Older ways of doing things have their pros and cons.

  3. Woody said,

    November 5, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    Ed…I'll keep that thought in mind. I'm already committed to helping with John's building.Ron..Splinter picking is becoming a new sport here.

  4. Leigh said,

    November 8, 2012 at 5:27 PM

    Wow, it is looking so good. Very impressive. A lot of work but it's been great that you've had such willing helpers.

  5. Robin said,

    November 13, 2012 at 4:23 PM

    Very few people build barns the old way here. It is so much cheaper to build a pole barn that most people cant justify the cost. The permit costs for a pole barn is pennies compared a nicely built structure too. Your barn when it is done is going to ROCK!

  6. Woody said,

    November 14, 2012 at 12:20 PM

    Leigh…I'm very happy with our helpers. We've had some really good times so far. It's nice when you can get a boat load of work done and have fun doing it.Robin… Metal clad pole barns do provide savings and are very practical. We have no permit requirements and desired something that would be a joy to look at and use. I think it will rock too…Thanks.


Leave a Reply

