Closer

Rafters and collar ties are finished.  The roof metal was delivered yesterday.  I should finish up all the blocking for the siding by this afternoon.  I should get a start on the purlins today too.  Hopefully we will get some metal on this thing this weekend.  
Our schedules are all a little bent right now.  With daylight savings time, youth deer season and middle school basketball all taking their jabs at our daylight and weekend time we will be fortunate to string together a few hours of barn work.  I’ve already made a seniority move to a night job so I can work at home in the remaining daylight.

I couldn’t be happier with the results so far.  We still have a ways to go.

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    November 1, 2012 at 8:14 AM

    Definitely looking like a barn. Putting purlins on is one of my least favorite jobs. I get sewing machine leg syndrome bad enough to usually shake the barn so others can feel. I'm not sure why my right leg does that and I certainly can't control it so I just laugh it off most of the time to reassure everyone. Also, it only happens on roofs when I can see through to the floor. If I were hanging my head over the vertical face of Mt. Hooker in the Wind River range and looking straight down a thousand feet, my leg is as still as a church mouse. My stomach however leaps into my throat!

  2. warren said,

    November 1, 2012 at 9:04 AM

    It's looking great! There's a lot of room there and I am surely envious!

  3. Ron said,

    November 1, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    Looking great over there! It sure is nice to get to the tin stage of things.

  4. Woody said,

    November 3, 2012 at 5:31 AM

    Ed..rough cut and splinters! I'm not real crazy about purlins either. It's not so much the height but more of a trust of what I'm holding/standing on. It is getting better for me though.Warren…Thanks man. I'm really feeling happy that we finally decided to do this thing.Ron…It will be so cool to get the siding on and start wrapping this thing up.


Leave a Reply

