Coming Together

Our weekend of labor brought about a few smiles.  We were able to stand back at the end of the day Sunday and see the lines come together.  
We set our first pair of rafters and ridge to complete the span.  Finally being able to actually see the profile and feel the confines of the building without drawing imaginary lines in the sky.  After we picked up our tools and hauled a pair of chairs up to the loft we took an inventory of the days work with a great deal of satisfaction in our labors and a dash of disappointment in not getting all the rafters set.  John had set the completion of the rafters as his goal.  A little to ambitious of a bar to set with a bunch of slackers for his crew.

For the weekend we were able to complete the loft floor,  add rafter tails to the west side,  start the framing on the north face and place the header for the lofts bay door,  build our scaffold for the rest of the rafter install and finish up some odds and ends all over the building.

So far so square.  At times I have questioned  my sanity in choosing to do most of the work ourselves.    John and Marie have been absolutely unbelievable with direction and labor.  I had no idea just how much I would learn taking this project on.  Not just in building skills but also in effective communication with my wife and others.  I’ve really had a struggle with putting an intelligible sentence together to express what is bouncing around between my ears.  I know what I want and need when Theresa is being my other hands,  I  just have had a difficult time communicating those thoughts.

The leaves are beginning to fall after what was one of the best showings of color in a long time.  I would have thought that after our scorching hot summer and drought that the trees would have just said to hell with it and shed their canopy without fanfare.  They however went out with a grand finale worthy of the Fourth of July.

We should be ready to put some tin on by next weekend if the weather holds and I don’t end up working a bunch of overtime.  Days are getting way too short.  We’re getting to where I’ll have to put some lights out to put on the siding.  I’m wishing that we didn’t have to set the clocks back when daylight savings time kicks back in.  I still can’t fathom the reason for the clock manipulation.  Just leave the damned thing alone.

1 Comment

  1. Leigh said,

    October 22, 2012 at 6:34 PM

    I had to go back to get caught up on all the work you've gotten accomplished. Very impressive! It's gonna be amazing once it's done and you will appreciate it all the more for having built it with a little help from your friends.


Leave a Reply

