Frost

This morning has brought thick moonlit frost to the ridge.  
Our first of the year.  We’ve had several chilly nights that have brought frost to some of the hollers but we had stayed above the cold till now.  
Yesterday came through with a soaking two inches of rain along with the cold front.  Theresa and I picked the last of our peppers and basil in anticipation of the frost.   She has been pickling peppers this year.  The first batch that I got to sample were very good.   

The wood stove is lit and some potatoes await my prepping for a big pot of soup.  Today should be a busy one.  I’ve got the wood rack on the porch to fill and have to stage some 2x12x16’s at the barn to place today.  A couple of our friends are coming out this afternoon to help and visit.  Having all the materials ready should cut down on the work time and increase the play time.

With help I should be able to get the remainder of the floor joists installed and even make a good run at nailing a portion of the flooring.  I have already floored a good working platform above what will be my shop area.  A few bodies toting planks should double my lone efforts.  It’s amazing what can get done when I’m not climbing up and down a ladder forty times a day.

I’m not very good at asking for help.  I hate to impose on others lives because I know how busy ours can get.  It is so very welcome when friends offer.

My greatest fear when someone is helping me is what I call the “moving mess”.  I have been asked far too many times to help friends move and arrive eager to get the job done only to be greeted with a total mess of disorganized chaos.  Things not packed or labeled. No boxes, tape, rope or tie-downs.  Clothes still in drawers and in the washer and dryer.  No other help or hand truck.  Best of all…NO TRUCK!

When I get somewhere to help that is what I want to do.  Get it done or at least have a plan to accomplish something.   I hate standing around waiting for direction at your job site.

Hopefully I will have enough lined up so that feeling won’t be passed along today.

A hot bowl of good soup, a cold beverage of your choice and a blazing bonfire await the end of the day.

6 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    October 6, 2012 at 8:42 AM

    In all my years, when I have helped people move, everything has been boxed and labeled when I arrived and all I had to do was cart boxes and furniture to the truck. That is until the last move a couple years ago and like you said, it was a moving mess. Nothing packed and they only had about a dozen boxes so we ended up boxing up stuff, moving it, and unboxing it so we could go get another load. It took us two days instead of a half day that it should have taken.

  2. Woody said,

    October 6, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    EXACTLY! One move they had nasty assed dirty dishes still piled up in the sink. Pure gross.

  3. Ron said,

    October 6, 2012 at 9:58 AM

    I'm the same way, if I'm going to have anyone help (which I'm uncomfortable with to begin with), I surely don't want to waste their time. I don't think we got frost here, but I slept in. Made some lovely stew on the wood stove last night, though.

  4. Woody said,

    October 7, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    Some of my help arrived just in time to watch it rain! We did get a little done once the showers passed. Should be a banner day Sunday. The loft floor will be going down fast.

  5. becky3086 said,

    October 9, 2012 at 6:48 AM

    I have helped move family members that way, they were just totally unprepared. That is never the way I move. I also do not like to ask people to help. I feel let down when they don't show up and most of the time these days, they don't show up, sigh.

  6. Woody said,

    October 10, 2012 at 2:29 AM

    Becky…Thanks for dropping in. I'm just a poor manager of others. We had a mess of people that showed up for the laminated beam lift that wanted to get something else done. I had no intention of having anything but the beam placed. They had other ideas. If I would have had other work staged, it would have happily been done. Just goes to show me that people are more than willing to be good neighbors. If I ask for help I better be ready to receive it.


Leave a Reply

