Wore Slick

This is one of those times where I feel like I’m just starting to bang my head against the wall.  A combination of trying to complete as much work on the barn as I can by myself and my complete lack of patience and utter inability to communicate effectively with my wife when she is available to help has me feeling like I’m wore slick.

John is on the mend.  I’m able to work around three or four hours a day, depending on what time I get home from my regular job.  Theresa is canning and keeping up with the rest of the house so we aren’t digging ourselves into a deeper abyss.  I have a slew of friends who are willing and able to help when called upon but they too have jobs, basketball games, cross country meets, football games, volleyball games, 4H and boy scouts.  I could hire out some help but it ain’t in the budget.

I realize that it will all come together in good time.  There are just times when I feel like I’m going to be putting siding on in a snow storm.  I would really prefer not to be doing that.

I am making good progress but my body is feeling it.  2x12x16’s are heavy.  They seem to get heavier when I have to lift one end on to a 10 foot high wall and then walk the other end up a ladder.

I am getting into better condition between the rolled ankles and smacking myself in the face with a hammer.  No fingers have been smashed or nearly cut off recently.  My back is holding out.  I’ve set another new goal on weight lose and more importantly a reduction in my girth (I’m down to 215 from 268 pounds).

There!  I’m done bitching today.

9 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    October 3, 2012 at 6:44 AM

    I know the feeling!If only a guy had a magic wand to get through the crappy parts…

  2. Ed said,

    October 3, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    When I get in situations like that, I just take a break. Let it sit for a week and then start up again. It ain't going anywhere. A few days separation does wonders.

  3. warren said,

    October 4, 2012 at 11:56 AM

    I absolutely understand everything you said…keep going! Just go slow around the curves if you are wore slick!

  4. Woody said,

    October 5, 2012 at 2:45 AM

    Looks like the rain is going to give me a break if I want it or not.

  5. edifice rex said,

    October 5, 2012 at 7:15 AM

    Well, I certainly understand! putting the siding on my house by myself was a supreme exercise in patience and ingenuity. I also understand the difference in communicating with the opposite sex. In my work years I occasionally had trouble with the guys; we seemed to be saying the same thing but couldn't understand each other! lol! I eventually learned to speak "man" and that helped!

  6. Woody said,

    October 5, 2012 at 7:37 AM

    Annie…did you think to write a translation dictionary?

  7. Robin said,

    October 7, 2012 at 10:21 PM

    Lol, some days you just need to bitch. I think the start of spring and the end of summer are the worst because we all pressure ourselves to get stuff done. The barn looks like it has come a long ways which is nice. Kudos to you for sticking with your weight loss goals. That is a lot you lost and a lot to be proud about!

  8. Woody said,

    October 8, 2012 at 2:55 AM

    Robin..We are making some good progress now. Thanks for the encouragement on the weight loss goals.

  9. becky3086 said,

    October 9, 2012 at 6:43 AM

    Ha ha, well I know you must feel better now šŸ™‚ Hope you get a break soon!


Leave a Reply

