Up

It is truly amazing what men will do for a home cooked meal.   Theresa whipped up a huge pot of chicken and dumplings.  Some friends brought some desserts.  A cooler of beer and everyone was happy.

I didn’t want to ask for much help on this project but there are times and tasks that require more than the immediate family can provide.   Two 12×2 forty eight foot long laminated beams aren’t that heavy but they are very unmanageable if the hands aren’t in the right places.

Rodney had the top plates nailed up and laid out the floor joists for the loft while he was cat’n on top of the walls.  What a time saver!  I’m too much of a klutz to get up on top of a wall.  I have a hard time walking out to the barn with out falling on my arse.

I can’t thank everyone enough for coming out and helping.  You guys rock!

3 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    September 29, 2012 at 8:13 AM

    Friends like that are awesome!I've done lots of pizza and beer bribes when I was younger but I suspect that greasy pizza doesn't go as well when one is older. The next time I need help, I will have to make sure to get some chicken and dumplings going. Fortunately beer is timeless.

  2. warren said,

    September 29, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    That's a serious beam. I was a participant in a beam raising one time and we were a few hands short…not fun! Glad you had a good crew!

  3. Woody said,

    October 2, 2012 at 3:04 AM

    Ed..I couldn't agree more. Just a mention that we would need a hand Friday evening and damn near twenty people showed up. If I had planned better I would have had all my floor joists ready to be lifted on to the walls. I have a feeling that Theresa's cooking might have something to do with attendance.Warren…We had a very good crew and a good time to boot.


Leave a Reply

