Reserves Called

John has finally been released from the hospital after his abdominal surgery.  He has been restricted to little activity and can only lift ten pounds so he is confined to the directors chair while his wife Marie steps in.  To be honest Marie is much better help than John ever thought about being.  
Our new crew configuration was able to layout, assemble and raise the east wall.  Unfortunately we had to raise the wall in three pieces.  I had been on the hill behind the barn clearing out some of the mess that our concrete contractors helper,  mister high speed-poor judgement had shoved into a tangled mess of trees.  Very close to being finished for the day from my clean up agenda I ripped the valve stem off the right rear tractor tire.  Not wanting to attempt a repair on the side of a very steep hill I made a run for flat ground.  Unfortunately the tractor was unavailable for a lift again. 
We managed!

I love to brag on these girls.  There are not too many of our friends wives who would even want to lend a hand in a construction project.  These two aren’t shy of hard work.

John did however make a valiant attempt at photography.

While we have been cursed with a good series of rain delays in construction there have been some very positive results from the rains.  Our trees that were showing a huge amount of stress in their foliage have made a hearty recovery.  There were some that had dropped nearly all their leaves and some I surely thought were dead.

We aren’t dealing with dust like in August.

The shittake mushroom logs that I planted last spring have exploded!

4 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    September 19, 2012 at 6:50 AM

    It sure is nice to have help! When Mel gives me a hand, things go 3x faster. I've been finding a ton of mushrooms in the woods this past week, but not the ones I want just yet.

  2. warren said,

    September 19, 2012 at 8:01 AM

    The mushrooms look awesome! My log has sort of faded…guess I need to re-populate some new ones! Well done

  3. Ed said,

    September 19, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    Sometimes, a female in my presence has been known to make me work a bit harder!

  4. Woody said,

    September 21, 2012 at 5:46 AM

    Ron…Honestly I wouldn't get much done without her. I'm getting less coordinated as time marches on.Warren..With this summer being so dry and hot I didn't know if the logs would ever produce. A little wet weather and we have an explosion of fungi.Ed…I hear ya!


Leave a Reply

