Good Help

A cold front moved through Friday night bringing with it another good soaking rain.  Saturday morning was cool and breezy.  Perfect weather in my opinion.  Not so warm that the sweat will run from my brow but warm enough not to wear long sleeves.

My main helper has been replaced for the weekend.  Theresa stepped in for a hand on the heavy lifting.  My friend John is now recovering from his surgery and will be out of commission for a good while.  I really miss his guidance.  What took me all day would take him a couple of hours at the max.  The true test will be when he is feeling better and he inspects what the student has done.  John has been very, very picky about his own work and very constructively critical of mine.  I guess we will see how well the teachers instruction sunk in.

It did surprise me that we got quite a lot done.  The back wall was just too heavy for the two of us to raise without the tractor.  Our little tractors undergoing an emergency surgery of its own.  One of the hydraulic cylinders had developed a very bad leak and was removed for repair.  Come to think of it I should have had Mike take both of the cylinders off and re-work them.  It never seems to fail that when I repair the weak link that the others will shortly begin their turn to failure.

8 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    September 9, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    It sure is nice to have good help. It's looking great!This weather sure did change drastically. I'm not complaining.

  2. Woody said,

    September 10, 2012 at 1:39 AM

    Thanks Ron. Progress is so painfully slow right now. IT is very nice to have some of the best help on the planet. There is no way I could even begin to tackle any of the jobs around here if not for her. The drastic change in the weather is most welcome. This is working weather!

  3. Ron said,

    September 10, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    It's hard to see what you want to get done, measured against what actually gets done in a day. But at least it is working weather now. I hope we get many months of reasonable weather to compensate for this summer.

  4. warren said,

    September 10, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    I enjoyed the cooler weather too…I was still tired after working all day yesterday but I didn't feel completely drained like in the heat! Anyhow, looking good!

  5. Woody said,

    September 11, 2012 at 2:35 AM

    Ron….Sometimes I surprise myself with what can get accomplished in a day. Other days I wonder why I got out of bed.Warren…It does make it a little easier to start the second shift at home when it is not in the mid 90's.

  6. edifice rex said,

    September 11, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    Looks good to me! I'm glad to see you framing actual headers above your windows and doors. I see so many people leave those out and it just makes me want to bang my head against a wall.

  7. Leigh said,

    September 11, 2012 at 4:56 PM

    Looking really good. So nice the weather is cooperating. Do you have a target date for finishing?

  8. Woody said,

    September 12, 2012 at 3:02 AM

    Annie…Hopefully you won't see anything that will cause you to bang your head. I'm trying hard to build solid. Leigh…Thanks! I'm really diggin' the cooler weather. Our target date is 2025.


Leave a Reply

