Saturdays Not

We had some grand plans for yesterday.  It was going to be an all day affair, with a grilled steak at the end of the day.  

My partner in this project called in the morning with the news that he was heading for the emergency room with an ongoing intestinal condition that pretty much tears him to pieces.  I called his wife a few hours later to see if he made it through the waiting room yet.  She said that they had admitted him and that he would require surgery.  Not at all bad news.  This condition had been knocking him out of sorts for quite a while now.  What the doctors had told his wife was once the procedure and recovery was complete, he would be free of any future diet restrictions and no more attacks.

So John’s not around today.  I’ll get some of this knocked out myself.

Nope!  The storm clouds rolled in and we were blessed with a cool day long shower.  Rain! About 3/4″.   I would have never thought that we would get rained out.  What a blessing.

So all things considered, Saturday was not to be a day of construction.  Saturday was a day to dig out an old exterior door that I had taken out of our dining nook, from its resting place in the garage.  It was a day to reorganize our garage so that I can store the windows that I bought for the barn.  I forgot to mention that I found a whole load of new windows that will work perfectly for the entire project for 700$ delivered.   Saturday was a day to head north to Bem and eat some homemade ice-cream at a church homecoming.

3 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    August 26, 2012 at 7:56 AM

    A productive day even if not what had been planned.

  2. Ron said,

    August 26, 2012 at 1:48 PM

    I won't complain about rain one bit, for at least a year, I promise, scout's honor and all.It was overcast here, misty… I'm guessing we only got maybe 1/2" or less out of it, though. Better than nothing. The next few days look more promising.

  3. Woody said,

    August 27, 2012 at 2:11 AM

    Ed…I'm happy that John is finally getting this problem cleaned up. He's been dealing with this for years. Ron..It's so nice to see things start to green up again.


Leave a Reply

