Barn.6

Finally started framing this evening after work.  Four hours with me and John to nearly finish the west wall.  We ran out of daylight before we were able to run the header above the double doors and the top plate.  We had to raise this wall in two pieces.  It was just too damned heavy for us to manage in one lift.

Using rough sawn lumber has its drawbacks too.  Inconsistent size and a large amount of warpage are pretty common with this order.  It slows things down a bit when we’re searching for the best we’ve got.

It’s so cool to finally see some elevation.  It gives me a chance to walk through and begin to feel the sight lines and how the building is going to fit us.

I’m just damned giddy to have started this phase of the construction.

3 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    August 22, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    Looking good. I think that framing is by far the most enjoyable part of building.

  2. Ed said,

    August 23, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    I agree with Ron, I love the framing part. Where I lose interest is roofing and painting.

  3. Woody said,

    August 23, 2012 at 7:47 PM

    I'm with you both on the framing. I really dig the sitting on the porch and sipping a cool one when the job's done best.


Leave a Reply

