Tank lid

 The septic tank is poured, plumbed and already backfilled.  On to the lid.   The form is made to give me a one inch overhang on the tank.

I used some eye bolts, old mower blades and a piece of a hog panel for some reinforcement.  The rebar went on top of the panel.
       

800 pounds of dry mix went into the lid, another 1840 pounds went into the tank.  The lid was just about too heavy to lift for the little tractor.  If I had not been on level ground I would not have tried the lift.  At times the rear wheels would start to get too much elevation for my taste.  After I had it positioned over the tank, with my excellent helper Katy guiding my alignment,  all I had to do was lean forward in the seat and the lid slowly dropped into rest.

Katy, Hunter and Collin put their prints in the tank of fame lid.  Where all the little turds hang out.

I’ve been sinking a huge amount of time into getting the stone in place for a set of steps to the barns covered porch.  Getting it to look right, fit right and not be a haven for copperheads is the goal.  Not getting my fingers and toes pinched off will be an accomplishment.

I’ve been using the limestone minus to fill and level any holes that won’t be getting any topsoil.  I’ve got a pretty good palate of stone loving plants to choose from around the house.  This side of the building is meant to be for our entertainment/enjoyment.  It will get a good dose of landscaping by division of what we already have in perennials.

5 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    August 20, 2012 at 7:40 PM

    Very nice! Will you just remove lid to clean out, if you ever have to? I like composting our manure, here, but when we get older it might be nice to build one like you have.Also, is that stone from your land? We've got quite a bit here, not too much with good flat sides, though… but I'd like to do something with it, when we get to that point.

  2. Woody said,

    August 21, 2012 at 2:42 AM

    I plumbed a clean-out in the waste line, although it is turned toward the barn. I'll have to get me a larger tractor with a loader to get it off now…or at least that is what I'm telling Theresa.All the stone is from our land. Most from right around the building site.

  3. Ed said,

    August 21, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    I can tell by your attention to detail thus far that this barn is going to be a show piece when finished!

  4. Ed said,

    August 21, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    I know you will probably hate me when I say this but man what would I give to have some nice looking stone like yours on my property.

  5. Woody said,

    August 21, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    Ed…I hope that it meets your expectations. Every time I start a project it is like enrolling in a class. Thank god I have some good teachers around me.As for the stone. I catch myself coveting others stone too. I've heard that it is firstly important to admit that there is a problem.


Leave a Reply

