Garden Summer Solstice

I know!  It should be the thumb, not the finger.

We have had to keep the water on the garden far more than we like and sooner in the season too.  Our rain has been sporadic and short on volume.  We had a nice rain early last week of an inch.  It helped a great deal.

So far this year our pest problems have not been overwhelming.  The Japanese beetles numbers have been way down.  I have sprayed once but have used diatomaceous earth for the most part.  The diatomaceous earth has really kept the fly population around the hog pen way down.  I wish I had used it before.  I’ve started dusting the chicken coop as well.

I have used the diatomaceous earth around the zucchini and other squash with good results in a reduction of squash bugs.  I’ve been hitting any bug eggs with a dusting.  So far so good.

Beets, beets and some more beets.  The row of Brandywines are heavy with flower and young fruit.

This bed of potatoes is ready for digging.  Looks like a few steak and new potato dinners on the menu for the next few weeks.   I dug a few off the end of the row to see if we had any pest problems.  The sample was looking very good.  Hopefully ripe tomatoes won’t be too far away.

We will begin the canning of green beans this weekend.  The runners haven’t closed the gap in the arches but they don’t seem short on production of beans.

 I love the iridescent sheen of the purple cabbage.  In direct sunlight they appear almost metallic.

7 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    June 23, 2012 at 9:52 AM

    Fantastic garden! Everything looks great.Another hot dry week in the forecast, time to drag the hoses out again…

  2. Woody said,

    June 23, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    Thanks Ron. I would hope that we could come out of this dry pattern but it is very good for the lumber we're drying. Is that the silver lining?

  3. edifice rex said,

    June 24, 2012 at 7:37 PM

    Your garden looks wonderful! I'm gonna try to diamatious earth for the flies in the coop; they seem bad this week for some reason.

  4. Woody said,

    June 24, 2012 at 7:48 PM

    We did find that none of the chickens we checked had any mites. I've been dusting their nesting boxes. Most of our fly problems surround the pigs feed and feces. A liberal dusting seems to have deminished the population greatly.

  5. Ed said,

    June 25, 2012 at 5:28 AM

    I guess my silver lining is that I didn't plant a garden this spring due to the moving thing. All I got out of my garden was some garlic that I planted last fall. The other silver lining is that with much much more land at the new place, I will have plenty of room for a much larger garden in the coming years.

  6. karl said,

    June 27, 2012 at 9:13 PM

    beautiful garden. D.E. is amazing stuff. I used to toss each hen into a feed bag with D.E. in it and shake them a bit. it cures mites if you treat the nest boxes and coop at the same time.i have garden envy but hopefully we'll be gardening in a few months.

  7. Woody said,

    June 28, 2012 at 2:44 AM

    Ed…I'm looking forward to seeing how you set up your new digs. A fall garden would be a good start. Just think how you could get your neighbors started wondering about the new guy by starting a garden now. Karl…I sure hope you start up a garden soon. I miss your blog posts and the inspiration they provide.


Leave a Reply

