Barn.2

I have spent much of the weekend re-stacking the delivery of wood for our barn.  It has been very warm and dry with very low humidity the last two weeks making it ideal for the wood to get a jump start on the drying process.  A steady breeze the last few days has made the job a bit more bearable too.  I still have three bundles to stack and another load should be brought in later next week.

This looks a whole lot better than what I came home to on Thursday.  Looks like I’ll be picking up a few tarps to keep the rain off our lumber.  That is if we ever get any rain.  Other than a half an inch last week we’re in a “flash drought”.  I had never heard that term until this week when it was used in a weather report on the local news.

I’ve tried to keep in mind what material we will need in the order of use.  Hopefully I’ll have done a decent job of thinking the stacks locations out.  Mindful of not to bury any of the material buy double stacking .

6 Comments

  1. Duane Keys said,

    May 27, 2012 at 6:01 AM

    Lookin' good. I can remember the excitement we felt before the construction of our newest barn. That looks like it's going to be a great project!

  2. Woody said,

    May 27, 2012 at 7:08 AM

    Duane..I have high hopes.

  3. Phoebe said,

    May 28, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    Well Woody, it's really happening. I am excited to watch the barn go up! Take lots of pictures. I have never really had the pleasure of building from scratch. We have lots of barns but our chore here has been to just keep them from falling down.Are you going to have a barn raising?

  4. Woody said,

    May 28, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    Phoebe..We are subbing the concrete work but the framing will be my friend John and myself. When the need arises some other friends will surely step up because that's the kind of friends we have. Fortunate we are in that vein.

  5. Ed said,

    May 28, 2012 at 1:11 PM

    Flash drought about sums it up. This is the third or fourth storm system that has parted just as it got to the west of us. I'm not sure when the last time we got rain but I'm thinking it was right before Easter and that has been awhile ago. Good barn building weather but not very good growing weather.

  6. Woody said,

    May 28, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    Ed…I've been putting water on the garden and fruit trees for the last week. The ground is hard as rock and all our grass has dried up. Thankfully most of the spring afforded a great cutting of hay. Folk were hoping for three cuttings but I think we'll be lucky with two.


Leave a Reply

