Barn.1

When I came home from work yesterday I was greeted by the mess of a delivery of one third of our lumber order for the barn.  After feeling pissed off that the load was left as a jumbled mess I took a look at what had happened.  The delivery was made off the tilt bed of the truck and the banding and blocks weren’t quite sufficiant to be double stacked and skidded off.  Luckily there was minor damage to a handful of the 1x material for the siding.

After the initial disgust with the state of the lumber I had a sudden mood swing.  The barn is FINALLY starting to happen.  The planning, drawing, re-drawing, pacing out, thinking and re-thinking are finally taking a near concrete start.  The concrete/foundation work is on schedule for next week.

That mood faded quickly when I realized that I would have my hand on nearly every board that goes into this project more than once.  Nothing eats at me more than double handling material.

I have a whole lot of re-stacking to do!  This is all fresh cut shortleaf pine in need of some drying time.  
I started moving all the wood back off to the west side of the site.  It will all need to be stacked and separated to allow some air flow around and through it.  Set on blocks and “stackers” placed between courses it will be allowed at least thirty days to dry.

I got a good start on moving the worst of the jumble last night.  At least I have a long holiday weekend to get more out of the way.  There should be another truck load brought in this afternoon.  Hopefully it won’t be a repeat of this jumble.

2 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    May 25, 2012 at 6:15 AM

    I've been around on this earth for quite some time and I've seen a lot of real barns being torn down but I think this is the first one I'll witness going up. Everything else has been a pole building.Congrats on the barn and my condolences on the offloading of the lumber. I've seen the same thing happen a handful of times.

  2. Woody said,

    May 25, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    I'm more than a little excited to get going. It will be an adventure for sure. I'm fairly handy but far from a carpenter. At least I have very competent guidance.


Leave a Reply

