I think I threw up a little

I don’t spend money very well.

When I step back and view the big picture of my life the preceding sentence would fit although from the opposite pole. I have had a past of reckless practice with my financial decisions. There was a slew of impulse buys that would hit the balance sheet in the category of total waste. Thanks to the steady march of time and the string of epiphanies that occurred from buying crap tools, cheap clothes and the like, I have reformed.

My wife has always been the frugal facade of our union. I’ll be happy to admit that so much of her practice has rubbed off on me. Not always at my liking. I can recall on several occasions where she said she felt nausea from writing a hefty check and vivid memory for the need of a trash can between her feet when writing our construction loan. I couldn’t help but laugh a little at her reactions.

Oh the times they are a changing.

I have been studying, comparing, searching and researching, pondering, wondering, rubbing the last two of my brain cells together, on the need of a new tiller. Could I get by with a hoe? Should I buy a used tiller and rebuild it? If I’m willing to buy new what do I want the machine to do? Is bigger better?

After nearly two months of deliberation I made a financial commitment to buying a BCS tiller.

There it is again! I felt a little chunk of lunch in the back of my throat. These damn things are pricey! The one thing that I can rest my final decision on was the almost complete lack of these machines being sold as used. If a machine last forever and does what it says it can do people will hold on to them. Then on the other hand one could be totally embarrassed to have dropped the amount of change it takes to buy new and would not dare list a machine for fear of being found a fool.

4 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    February 29, 2012 at 8:06 PM

    It looks like a nice piece of equipment. I don't know much about them, but I would like more functionality than the one I have came with someday.

  2. karl said,

    March 1, 2012 at 6:02 AM

    I hardly ever regret buying and expensive "right too for the job" the problem is figuring our if it actually is the right tool. We bought a very pricy tiller and I never regretted it. I hope this is the case for you also. We are in the market to buy a house soon. The kind of money I am looking at is crazy. This is especially poignant juxtaposed next to living on the farm in Missouri.

  3. Ed said,

    March 1, 2012 at 8:43 AM

    I can't think of one pricey item that I have bought after much deliberation that I regret. However, I can think of a few pricey items that I bought with no deliberation that I regret and I can think of tons of cheap items I have bought, some with deliberation all of which I eventually regret.You put in the required deliberation so have no regrets.

  4. Robin said,

    March 2, 2012 at 1:36 AM

    Awesome! I kind of wish that we had bought a new one just so it would be up and going for our garden this season. Oh well, hopefully Lee will get it going this year and we wont look back. I really want to get that chipper attachment because it would come in soooo handy around our place. I'm going to agree with Ed. Everything we have really thought hard about that was pricey we have ended up loving once we got. The more expensive it is the more months it takes to make up our mind. lol.


Leave a Reply

