New Year

New Years Eve I took a box out to the garage. I just wanted to find a place to set it down but I ended up spending a whole day putting away tools, cleaning up the messes of summer and desperately searching for the floor. I found it eventually, but the practice of reorganizing the garage is a pain in the ass. Every change of season or completion of a project requires a re-shuffling of the mountain that is stacked against the south wall. I like knowing exactly what I have and where it is. I hate that the task of seasonal rotation of supplies and tools that has to occur due to lack of space (or too much stuff as my wife says). I can’t recall the last time we had a vehicle parked out of the snow and ice. I think it was about six years ago. I know it was before we had all the cages for showing poultry and a 3’x4′ plywood show box for Katy’s 4H swine projects. Then there is the roll of greenhouse film that has to weigh over 200# and stands as tall as me. Sleds, garden tools, chainsaws,freezers,table saw, feed cans, push mower, generator, power-washer, recycling stuff and a stack of lumber. It is a pile. We really need some more space!

We have dedicated a lot of time to the planning of our new barn/workshop/studio loft. When a building begins to take on multiple functions we felt that it would be well worth the expense of having our ideas put to paper and properly engineered. I love the look of an old barn but I don’t want to see an old sway back roof line after a few years. Especially with the cost of materials a little planning goes a long way to reducing mistakes in material waste.

The footprint of the building is 40’x48′ with a pair of twelve foot lean-to on the east and west sides. There will be a root/storm cellar and the lean-to on the west side of the building will cover a 10’x48′ concrete porch slab. It will get rough cut shortleaf pine siding and galvanized metal roof. Everything on the inside will be rough cut lumber with the exception of four engineered beams that will run the length of the building.

The loft will be split with the south side being finished out for Theresa’s studio. I get a workshop on the ground floor. There should be plenty of room to spread out for awhile.

I have spent most of this fall cutting and clearing trees from the building site. I’m getting a good supply of next years firewood without having to haul it up the hill. Hopefully we will break ground soon.

11 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    January 4, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    Very nice! It looks like you've put a lot of thought into this. I need to sit down one of these days and try to turn my rough ideas into an elevation as well.

  2. Woody said,

    January 5, 2012 at 6:25 AM

    We've put more thought and planning into this than we did for the house.

  3. Leigh said,

    January 5, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    Interesting post Woody. Eventually we need to build a barn too, but we aren't anywhere near even the serious planning stage. Looks like you have a good plan.

  4. Phoebe said,

    January 9, 2012 at 12:26 AM

    That is a real barn! I see a few just like it on my drive here but they are on the far side of 80 years and are sadly neglected. Barns used to be the first thing a farmer built on his land around here, even before the house, but now they are falling down all over the place. I'm so happy to see a new one going up.It's a big project for sure, but it looks like you are doing it right.

  5. Woody said,

    January 13, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    Leigh…I hope you're right. Anything would be an improvement.Phoebe…I hope it will make another generation or two happy. After building so much crap in my life I've finally figured out what my Dad was telling me all along. "If you don't take the time to do the job right the first time when are you going to find the time to do it again."

  6. Robin said,

    January 17, 2012 at 1:10 PM

    That is a beautiful barn!!

  7. Woody said,

    January 18, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    Robin…I hope you're right.

  8. Brad said,

    January 19, 2012 at 8:42 AM

    Lee, Love the barn. You will love the space. You might consider heated floors to make the space usable for a much longer season.

  9. Woody said,

    January 20, 2012 at 6:53 AM

    Brad..thanks. with our winters a wood stove will work wonderfully for us. A solar radiant system would be too cool though.

  10. Leigh said,

    February 16, 2012 at 6:36 AM

    So. How's the progress???????

  11. Woody said,

    February 16, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    Leigh…mud


Leave a Reply

