Drawdown

My focus turns from picking tomatoes to sharpening saw chains. Always with the first few cool nights of the end of summer I seem to get the same type of fever I get when the seed catalogs hit the mailbox. Only this fever is directed at the wood pile and hauling in previously cut trees for cutting/splitting. I don’t get nearly as excited with this bout of flu as I due the spring variety. I do enjoy the change of season though.

There comes a new direction in chores. A change in the routine.

As for this years garden…well we had a new nemesis rear its ugly heads. Japanese beetles found us. I had never had to deal with them before and quite frankly they suck! I have invested in some beneficial nematodes and milky spore. I hope that will help in the long run.

We won’t again be taking a vacation after the fair. What ended up being three weeks away from the daily chores of the garden was not a very well thought out plan. The weeds did very well this year.

I have several projects that I’m trying to wrap up before winter. The front porch and wood shed are at the top of the list. Both are nearly finished.

My little girl began her cross country season this past week. She was nervous and wide eyed going into the meet. I was very proud of her finish. She placed 27th overall. A good slot to set reasonable goals for improvement. She has some wonderful coaches and fantastic mentors who wish nothing but the best for her.

Posted by Picasa
3 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    September 11, 2011 at 10:31 AM

    For some reason, after two years of dealing with the Japanese beetles, I saw nary a one this year. I wonder if our harsh winter last year killed them off and they have to migrate up here again. It was kind of nice without them because like you, I think they suck.

  2. Leigh said,

    September 19, 2011 at 3:00 AM

    I think my husband is catching the same fever. 🙂

  3. Phoebe said,

    September 27, 2011 at 11:42 AM

    We are in the midst of the Ceremony of Wood Piling too. I am so sad to see summer go but I can't help but feel giddy with the excitement of the seasons changing. I could never live in a place where there are no seasons, it's in my blood. How wonderful for Katy to be embarking on a really great sport with such a group of supporting adults. It is surely going to make a real difference in her life.


Leave a Reply

