Plans

We have talked and argued for nearly two years on the need, wants, purpose, druthers and design of a new barn. There are a couple of areas that we agree on. We both don’t want a metal skinned pole barn. Our desires lean towards what I’ve come to call a seventy year old new barn.

We want an old look to a new building.


Something along these lines.


Our use of the building would vary. I would get my workshop and by splitting the loft Theresa would have a true studio space to work on her painting. I would be able to scrape several plans for smaller out buildings by including their purpose into the one building. At this point any new space under roof would be welcome.

4 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    July 20, 2011 at 7:23 PM

    I hear you. Outbuildings these days lack character. I've seen people harvest trees on their property and get them sawed up into siding. One of the things I have done is to tear down some old barns and salvage the siding and then re-install on the outside of a functionally weather proof skin (particle board and house wrap) on a building giving it the appearance of a barn. I have also used old barn siding as interior wainscoting in the cabin and made numerous picture frames from the stuff. There aren't many old style barns around here anymore and those that are look better and better to me every day.

  2. Woody said,

    July 21, 2011 at 5:59 AM

    Ed..I'm with you on the character thing. I have so many good memories from spending summers @ my uncles farm. In one way I want to be reminded of that time through the architecture. Metal buildings are very functional but soulless.

  3. Robin said,

    July 22, 2011 at 1:39 PM

    All the new barns over here are pole barns with metal siding. Our county charges a small fee to build one of those and a ton of crazy high fees to build something that looks better and will last longer. Go figure. It's always the old barns that make you stop and stare and take pictures and wish it was on your property.

  4. Woody said,

    July 22, 2011 at 2:34 PM

    Robin..Exactly! I completely understand the need for a cost effective, functional structure. I just want mine to look great. It might not be as cost efficient as a metal skinned building, the maintenance maybe higher but it will hopefully take your breath away.


Leave a Reply

