Fourth

July rolled in as always in the Ozarks. Hot and humid. We were blessed with a nice rain last night that was sorely needed. I had pulled all of our garlic in the last week. The variety “Music” that I had ordered through Territorial Seed Co., was the best performer. Last night with dinner I tossed about six bulbs in the skillet with some Vidalia onions, butter and a touch of sorghum molasses. The garlic was so good!

Earlier this spring I had spread one of our compost piles out to a thickness of around two feet and planted some of our old seed on it. Pumpkins, watermelon, cucumbers, collards and spaghetti squash. I haven’t put any water on them yet as I should have from the beginning.

Results so far have been mixed. Some seed never did germinate and those that did have done well, for no attention rendered.

The fair is a week away. Katy’s entries are putting the pounds on! I’m guessing that her barrow will weigh in at 320# and the gilt nearer to 260#. I’ll let you know how the scale reads to see how good/bad my carny skills are at guessing weights. ****update…barrow-318# and the gilt 270#. I have a future as a carny.

We had a decent bunch of beets to can this year. Better than last in quality and size.

Our beans have been slow to cover the arches. I planted some speckled lima beans that haven’t been worth a dime!

The tomato plants are beginning to set fruit. We’ve had a hand full of ripe Early Girl’s. I still need to get either panels up or wire up a Florida weave on two rows of Hillbilly Royal and Cherokee Purples.

Early Girls

Two of Katy’s poultry entries this year. A golden laced cochin bantam pair and a black tailed Japanese bantam rooster. She has a boat load of birds to show this year. I think she is taking nine birds. If she adds anymore I’ll be building a new cage stand in a hurry.

We spent a fantastic evening with some friends celebrating a birthday Saturday. Their farm creek is down stream from a trout farm and fishing resort. People from all over this country fly in here to fish at the resort. Us poor folk had to drive down to the gravel bar and grill some beef brats and shish-kabobs have a nice fire and cold beverage and fish for free. Isn’t this a great country!

Happy Fourth all!



Posted by Picasa
5 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    July 4, 2011 at 12:22 PM

    Heck yeah! There's a lot of fun things to do that rival the paid attractions if a person seeks them out.

  2. Ed said,

    July 4, 2011 at 7:33 PM

    Haven't pulled my garlic yet but I expect I will probably get to it later this week. It was my only crop this year that I planted in my small urban garden so I'm hoping it is good.

  3. edifice rex said,

    July 5, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Wow! that all looks great, especially the chooks!

  4. Woody said,

    July 7, 2011 at 4:56 AM

    Ron…As we sat around our fire on that hot humid night the fog rolled off the cold spring water surrounding us in our celebration of my friends 40th birthday. It doesn't get any finer than sharing the gems of nature with good friends.Ed…We've got garlic drying everywhere in our garage. The aroma damn near will knock you over on a hot day. I hope your plantings do well.Annie..Thanks. She has a mess of poultry to show this year.

  5. Leigh said,

    July 13, 2011 at 12:00 PM

    I need to start thinking about fall garlic. That's one thing I still don't have a year's worth growing. Still can't find the perfect variety. I wonder if what grows in the Ozarks would grow in southern Appalachia!Wishing Katy the very best of luck at the fair. Looks like she stands a good chance to haul home the prizes!


Leave a Reply

