The rain stopped

After receiving nearly 7″ of rain in the last two weeks we have had a reprieve. Amazing how a couple of days of stiff southerly breezes can take the squish out of your step. We are hilltop and dry fairly quickly. The river is still bulging at its banks but has receded from flood stage. The tater flag is starting to push through. I planted a cranberry red, Yukon gold (white) and an all blue potatoes in three rows, hence the flag.

Greens, lettuce, peas, spinach and garlic.

I’ve got a few tomatoes and a boat load of peppers that are needing to be re-potted.

I also started a few seed directly in the greenhouse beds that I’ll transplant to the garden. This is a new practice for me. I had always started my seed in trays or paper pots but decided to try out this approach.

Peony bud ready to pop.

I finally took delivery of our stone and lumber for the front porch.

Katy helped me get a great start Saturday morning. She really was a good hand picking rock and did quite a bit of the install.

I was very happy with the days work. We finished one half of one side. I will be rocking the inside of the porch as well.

It does feel good to see an idea start to come together.
Posted by Picasa
9 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    May 1, 2011 at 6:18 AM

    How do you know when a blue potato starts to go bad? Do they turn white?The porch is looking great. If there were more covered porches in the world that looked like that one, definitely less work would get done.

  2. Woody said,

    May 1, 2011 at 7:20 AM

    I have no idea Ed…I'm sure we'll find out though. I can't wait to enjoy the porch after this deal is done. We still have 3/4 left to rock, columns and trim work and a bead board ceiling to go. Maybe next year.

  3. Ron said,

    May 1, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    Wow, the porch looks great! It sure is nice to see an idea come together.Potato flag – heh heh. I had never heard of a red potato before.Ron

  4. edifice rex said,

    May 1, 2011 at 7:45 PM

    Oooh, it all looks great!!! great stone work!

  5. Woody said,

    May 1, 2011 at 7:59 PM

    Ron..thanks man! I couldn't pass on ordering some "exotic" potatoes. It's fun to try out some new plants every once in a while.Annie..A positive comment from you on the stone work means a great deal to me. Thanks.

  6. Leigh said,

    May 2, 2011 at 6:41 PM

    Congratulations on no rain! Your garden looks fantastic. And so does your porch. I love the stone.

  7. May 5, 2011 at 2:31 PM

    The gardens look wonderful and the stone work terrific.Warm wishes, Tonya

  8. robin said,

    May 5, 2011 at 2:53 PM

    Looking good! Thats a porch to be proud of. 🙂

  9. Woody said,

    May 27, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    Thanks ya'll


Leave a Reply

