Sprung

I finally started to inoculate our new cutting of shittake logs. The wooden dowels are treated with the spawn for the mushroom.

A series of holes are drilled around the girth of the logs.

The dowels are tapped in then covered with a dollop of wax to retain the moisture.

Then the logs are placed in a shady spot to allow the spawn to incubate the log.

About this time next year we will be finding these little jewels for our kitchen.

Some salad greens, spinach, garlic and Swiss chard are our carry overs from this winter in our high tunnel. I’ve got a few seeds started that are due to be re-potted.

Katy has shown a fresh interest in what we grow and eat.

Posted by Picasa
8 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    March 23, 2011 at 7:29 PM

    All looks great. This weather is fantastic. A wee bit of rain soon and it'd be about perfect, in my opinion.One of these days, I've got to give those shittake shrooms a try!Ron

  2. Woody said,

    March 24, 2011 at 8:33 AM

    Ron…it's too easy!

  3. Ed said,

    March 24, 2011 at 1:18 PM

    I like shittakes but prefer morels. Perhaps you can come up with a way to grow morels in logs and make yourself a rich man… and me well fed.

  4. Woody said,

    March 24, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    Ed… Me too! I would be a very rich man if I were able to grow morels. It will be a week or two before I'll find any morels around here.

  5. Phoebe said,

    March 25, 2011 at 4:12 PM

    I am really looking forward to Morel season!I have been thinking about doing the shittake ever since your first batch. Do you have to put them in oak logs or can they be started in other types of wood?

  6. Woody said,

    March 25, 2011 at 6:59 PM

    Phoebe…I have only grown shittake on red, white and post oaks. Everything I've read recommends the oaks.

  7. Robin said,

    March 31, 2011 at 1:50 AM

    I've never tried growing mushrooms before. I should probably add that to my want to do list. 🙂

  8. Leigh said,

    April 30, 2011 at 4:53 AM

    Glad to see Katy taking an interest! I'm very interested in the shittakes. I've eyed the kits in catalogues but was afraid I'd botch it. They are pricey after all. But we love shittakes. I have to honestly say that I've never had the opportunity to try morels.


Leave a Reply

