A Grand Weekend

This weekend was spent with our grand kids as our guests. The boys mom and dad were celebrating their anniversary, so we were blessed to have them out for the entire weekend. Collin helped me cut some firewood and fall some smaller oaks for shiitake logs. He was trying to learn how to identify some of our species of trees. I was truly impressed that he was paying that much attention to correctly identify a couple of trees. It was cool to see him thinking it through. What did the bark look like? Was there any nuts on the ground near the trunk? Did it smell if you rubbed the bark? Did any of the branches show color? I just love watching a young mind at work.

It wasn’t all about work this weekend. The future little motorhead had his fun too.

Hunter is truly the one that wears me down the most. I’m not complaining. It feels so good to spend time with these kids. They are just some super charged little bundles of 100% pure boy!
I was saying in a previous post that working with concrete made me feel like an old man, but after the boys hit the trail I felt like I had mixed and poured twice as much concrete as we did for the front porch rail cap. I never remember having so much damn energy as those two boys have. They done wore their papaw out!

Katy put some finishing touches on her slingshot. I test fired it for her a couple of times and have to say it worked well. She’ll have a little time to practice since volleyball season is on hold due to her broken arm.


Posted by Picasa

3 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    March 3, 2011 at 6:00 AM

    What a cute boy Collin is! And how is Katy going to use her slingshot with a bum arm? Maybe her toes? šŸ˜‰ I would have loved one of those when I was younger.

  2. Woody said,

    March 6, 2011 at 6:42 AM

    Robin..He's a handsome young man. I'm sure Katy will find a way. Most likely her solution will have duct tape as a part of the recipe.

  3. info 4 all said,

    March 6, 2011 at 11:39 AM

    very nice post


Leave a Reply

