Eggs & Bones

The chickens and turkeys are laying again. I have no idea what laid the little egg in the center of the photo. It is the second one of that size that we have found. They are perfectly formed with yolk and white, but about the size of my thumbnail.

Katy is in a temporary cast till Monday when she will get herself a choice of colors for her permanent cast. The swelling has gone down and with it much of the pain.

It appears like she will be on the IR list till around the beginning of April.

6 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    February 24, 2011 at 7:51 PM

    That is one tiny egg. The hand looks painful, hopefully it heals fast.

  2. Tracy said,

    February 24, 2011 at 9:01 PM

    Gorgeous eggs. Usually little ones we find aren't quite right.

  3. edifice rex said,

    February 24, 2011 at 10:45 PM

    I hated to hear about Katy's wrist. Bummer. Hope she has a speedy recovery.

  4. Woody said,

    February 25, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    Ron..the egg seems as though it was almost unintentional. The arm will no doubt heal nicely.Tracy..The eggs that really freak me out are the occasional soft rubber like shell. I can't stand it when I find one on a blind reach in the nesting boxes. Makes me think I've stuck my hand in a pile of crap.Annie…She really surprised me how she handled the whole thing. The drive to the hospital was around fifty miles on roads as straight as a pigs tail. She said to thank you for the well wishes and she digs your mug.

  5. Robin said,

    March 3, 2011 at 5:56 AM

    I always wanted to break my arm when I was younger so I could get a colorful cast. Wouldn't you know it but i went and broke my collar bone (age 19) instead and didn't get a cast at all. All I have to show for it now is a bump on collar bone and a fear of sledding downhill. 🙂 Oh and those speckled eggs are really pretty.

  6. Woody said,

    March 4, 2011 at 4:35 PM

    Robin..I'll pass on the casts. The speckled eggs are turkey eggs.


Leave a Reply

