It’s a jungle

Amazing how a little overtime can allow a garden to nearly go to hell in a week. I’ll choose to look at the positive side in that the weeds are easier to pull when they are doing so well. A little bit of clearing work has the appearance of opening a huge hole in the jungle.

I’m only half serious here. Theresa has been working the strawberries for the last two weeks. She has been making batches of jelly and jams as the berries come in. Now the first planting of beets is nearly ready to find their way into canning jars. The timing of our beet planting should keep us purple fingered for a month. We’ll look like we voted in Iraqi elections ten fold.

There are a few things we have done differently this year. Almost all of our tomatoes are in raised beds. With the frequency of our rainfall this spring and the ridiculous totals of accumulation it is looking like the choice of beds was a good idea. The few plants that I did manage to get in the ground have suffered from wet feet but will still come around to produce. They just won’t be as pretty a plant as the bed homed fruit.

Our blackberries are beginning to ripen. Looks like we’ll have a nice crop and more purple fingers.

We had a very nice year for our asparagus. I know we had some at nearly every meal for part of April and most of May. We let them go to fern a little earlier than we have in the past.

Eggplant in the greenhouse.

I’ve got a few tomatoes still to put out. I plan on leaving a little of everything inside. I’m looking forward to seeing how long I can prolong the growing season.

Katy has her hogs in the spirit of the World Cup.

I think this hamp gilt will be her best bet for the show, but I still like her little barrow. When we get them all cleaned up, the markings on both of these pigs stand out.

Fuzz on snake patrol.

11 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    June 13, 2010 at 2:38 AM

    Looking good to me. You should see our jungle. It's been raining for a month straight so no weeding has been going on. I'm scared to go out there now. LOL

  2. karl said,

    June 13, 2010 at 5:50 AM

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing. It is nice to see how different and similar you do things compared to us. I get ideas and ultimately more work.Those pigs sure are looking great.

  3. edifice rex said,

    June 13, 2010 at 7:04 AM

    Looks great! I think we are going to have a very good blackberry year too.

  4. Woody said,

    June 13, 2010 at 9:11 AM

    Robin…the rains have been ridiculous! No slow, steady half inch rains. We have been getting ours an inch at a time in fifteen minutes.Karl…Thanks friend. These damned blogs do create more work with the plethora of great ideas others provide me. Again thanks for the bean arches.Annie…COBBLER!!!

  5. Ed said,

    June 14, 2010 at 5:26 AM

    I think I ate asparagus nearly every meal during that time frame and I don't even grow the stuff. My parents planted a 20 foot bed of the stuff and it had a bumper year. My raised bed garden seems to be the only thing above water these days. My rain gauge is broke but judging by my daughter's kiddie pool, we've gotten six inches or more in the last three days.

  6. Woody said,

    June 15, 2010 at 4:49 AM

    Ed…I was eating it before I ever got it up to the house. I love the stuff…but enough already.Looks like we will get a sample of the storms that hit OKC this week. Just what we need. Will rice replace corn in Iowa?

  7. polly's path said,

    June 15, 2010 at 9:00 AM

    everything looks great, me thinks.We just had our first harvest of asparagus and it was delicious beyond words.

  8. Jim Long said,

    June 16, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    Love the pigs. They are my fav. farm animal, smart, easily trained, great personalities.

  9. Woody said,

    June 17, 2010 at 5:00 AM

    Thanks Polly. It should just keep getting better for you.Jim…They're my favorite too.

  10. Leigh said,

    June 17, 2010 at 5:35 AM

    I love your new blog look! I'm glad to hear we're not the only ones battling a jungle. At least Theresa can find your strawberries. :)Great photos. And look at those pigs! They're growing like, well, like weeds.

  11. Woody said,

    June 18, 2010 at 4:57 AM

    Leigh…She found them alright. Then she found blackberries and now we are finding the beets. Canning season is on!


Leave a Reply

