Where’s my boots?

Since the pigs have been here my shoes seem to disappear. One of the dogs ( got a real good idea which one of the little turd munchers it is ) has decided that it is a good idea to drag my muck boots out in the middle of the front yard. I would assume that the accumulation of pig crap has become an irresistible culinary treat. Kind of like our kids wanting to lick the mixer thingy. So far there hasn’t been any damage from overzealous appetite stimulation. So far the culprit has just decided that the boots would be happier under the cedars in front of the house. So far there hasn’t been an eyewitness to the crime. I will catch you in the act and you will feel the wrath of the muck boot gods!

Retooling of the greenhouse has kicked into high gear. I’ve got quite a collection of hardware odds and ends that have accumulated waiting. Waiting for a chance to shine. I disdain the thought of tossing perfectly good stuff in the trash even though I have no use for it at present. Finally some of the odds and ends are finding their way into the sun.

I bought some pressure treated deck boards to side the knee walls of the greenhouse. The original thought here was to run battens along the peak and tails of the trusses to cut down on sharp points and prolong the life of the plastic film. I find it humorous that I would use a pressure treated wood on top of the untreated frame work. It is like putting a brick veneer on a house of twigs.I installed the new track and spring tie down for the greenhouse film. No more trying to stretch and wrap plastic around a lattice strip.


Planting of beets, cabbage, collards, chard, carrots and several lettuces are in the raised beds. The rest of the ground should be dry enough to work with by weeks end. A sunny, warm and breezy forecast for the work week should wring out the sponge that is our garden.

I have started the next phase of coop expansion. The whole thing will be shoved back into the footprint of the run so that I can add on the front side without encroachment into the utility area of the garden. I want an area to store their feed that is accessible to everyone but the birds.

The turkeys are setting. Last I counted a dozen eggs under her. The other hen is trying to push her off the clutch so I took a few of her eggs from her so the other hen would leave her alone.

Cody has become very attached to the pigs. He lays there and allows them to crawl up on top of him. I’m sure this practice will change when they pack on a bit more weight.

The initial weigh-in for Katy’s swine project is Saturday morning. I haven’t tried to weigh her entries here but I’m fairly certain they’ll be around 35lbs.. Really cutting it close to the lower end of the weight window of 30-70lbs.. It would really be a bummer if we were short and she couldn’t show.

Saturday Morning Update:


Well I was pretty darn close on weight estimate for the pigs. Katy’s three entries came in at 32, 37 and 39 pounds. I was worried the most about the little barrow making weight but he made it with two pounds to spare. Too close for my liking.

4 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    April 6, 2010 at 9:41 PM

    I was so impressed by your greenhouse when we saw it. I couldn't believe the size of your garlic. I'm looking forward to reading more.Those pigs look great. :)Ron

  2. Robin said,

    April 7, 2010 at 3:23 AM

    Sounds like everything is going well over there…except for the soon to be caught boot stealer. 🙂 I am feeling garden envy as we still don't have anything planted. It just won't stop raining. I'm glad that Katy's pigs made it weight wise. Are the pigs weight usually on the low end for you or is this just an odd year?

  3. Woody said,

    April 7, 2010 at 6:11 PM

    Thanks Ron…Robin…A very odd year. Almost all of our previous sources of pigs went dry this year and those that had pigs were out of our weight window or price range. We have a market hog show which to me says that the bottom line is as important as the genetics.

  4. April 13, 2010 at 12:03 PM

    We raise a pig many, many years ago(Josephine) and it was so hard when we finally had her butchered. But, boy, did she taste good! Someone told me I should have named her Porkchop!You've gotta love 'em……..they're always smiling! LOL


Leave a Reply

