So…here’s one list

In regards to my previous post, this is my first draft of what I would like to get accomplished around the ridge.

Expand the chicken coop: It is a bit undersized for my liking. I want to push it back into the present run, add on the front side and expand the run area. I also would like to install some low pressure water fonts. There just isn’t enough room to cleanly store feed cans inside the coop, or anything else. If Katy wants to continue to show poultry in 4H we will need the extra room to sequester the birds that she wants to show.

Re-do garden fence: I put deer netting around the garden three years ago with great effect. I no longer have any marauding rats with hooves inside the perimeter fence. The bottom of the netting has taken a beating allowing the dogs in where I don’t want them. I can’t turn the chickens loose in the garden without the dogs thinking they’re free to hunt. I want to run cattle panels so that I can keep the dogs out and extend the life of the netting. Panels aren’t cheap but they are so much more versatile than rolled fence and Lord knows we will use them again.

I’ve been reading up on bees. I would like to try my hand at keeping a couple of hives. Having bees around couldn’t hurt our garden production and the idea of our own honey is pretty cool. I enjoy learning something new and from what I’m gleaning from my reading, there is plenty to get my brain wrapped around. Initially I’m leaning towards buying a complete hive and then building the other. It never is a bad idea to have a model in construction. I’m lucky enough to have a friend that keeps bees close at hand. His experience will be put to good use.

Lastly for now; the greenhouse has yet to be re-skinned. I was hoping to have some double walled plastic panels in my hands by now, but that hasn’t quite worked out yet. I did order a track and spring hold down system for sheet plastic. In hopes of coming up with the panels I haven’t installed the tracks. I’ll be making a final negotiating push for the panels. At least I have a fall back plan if we can’t come to an agreement.

5 Comments

  1. Kirsty said,

    January 26, 2010 at 6:36 PM

    oooohhhh I want bees as well!!! I'm sure to bee (hehe) stung a hundred times but I would love honey!!! Cattle panels sound like what I need as well.

  2. Leigh said,

    January 28, 2010 at 6:59 AM

    Very good goals. Good idea about the cattle panels. I was heartened to hear that the deer netting ("marauding rats with hooves" *LOL) is effective. We've seen deer pass through our new garden spot so I know this will be a problem for us too. We've got a hankering for bees too, though that will probably have to wait for a year or so. I'll be interested in how you make out with them.

  3. Woody said,

    January 30, 2010 at 5:20 AM

    Kirsty..I have grown to love the versatility of panels. My favorite is using them as an arch trellis for our green beans.Leigh..the netting works great. I haven't had to rant about deer in a while.

  4. Duane Keys said,

    January 31, 2010 at 10:10 PM

    I'm hoping to hear more about your adventures with bees!

  5. Woody said,

    February 2, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    Duane..hopefully adventures will be of success and mild in nature.


Leave a Reply

