BRRRrrrrrrr

Cold has its grip on all that moves. Tires look flat. Critters water freezes solid even with tank heaters. Metal will adhere to bare skin. Vehicles seem bothered to start.

On the bright side… a log will almost explode while splitting firewood. A nice strike with the maul is splitting some of the more stubborn pieces that I have left in my pile with a crisp sounding pop. Even crotch wood splits.

The weather prognosticators are calling for a long run on frigid temps and snow for our immediate future. We haven’t had an extended streak of real cold for several years. Last I remember was the ice storm that tore through much of southern Missouri, Arkansas and Oklahoma nearly three years ago. Many trees in this area still look like the escaped the barber college of tree trimming too late.

Stay warm…

8 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    January 4, 2010 at 8:33 AM

    I drove through some of the remnants of that storm in southern Illinois on my way south to Alabama. I couldn't believe how bad the trees STILL looked!

  2. Woody said,

    January 4, 2010 at 10:58 AM

    It truly was amazing how wide spread the degree of tree damage was. I still have a bunch of tops to cut up for firewood.

  3. edifice rex said,

    January 4, 2010 at 9:56 PM

    Well, maybe in a couple of days you'll get a package containing something to help you stay warm!

  4. Kirsty said,

    January 7, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    And here I am complaining about our record hot summer heat, kinda glad it doesn't get that cold here though!!! Brrrrrr is right LOL

  5. Woody said,

    January 8, 2010 at 6:11 AM

    Hey Kirsty…been a while since I've heard from you. I'm not a cold weather fan. Give me some of that record breaking heat anytime.

  6. January 8, 2010 at 10:18 AM

    I guess while you guys are basking in that cold we are downright balmy here at 40 degrees! Stay warm!

  7. Woody said,

    January 8, 2010 at 4:29 PM

    You and northern Florida Nita..

  8. Leigh said,

    January 15, 2010 at 11:07 PM

    Great look at the bright side! I needed that.


Leave a Reply

